Corporate Governance & Strategy

Corporate Governance

DEWA has implemented the best principles of Corporate Governance for State Owned Enterprises in line with the recommendations of the OECD 2015. The guidelines of the World Bank and best practices of electricity and water providers worldwide have also been adapted and adopted. There is a comprehensive Governance Framework, Governance Policy and Governance Charter that have been implemented.

 DEWA is 100% owned by the Government of Dubai. Its nine member Board is appointed by the Government of Dubai by a legal statute issued by HH The Ruler of Dubai. Eight of the members are independent and non-executive. The Managing Director and CEO is also appointed by statute. The MD & CEO is authorized to manage all the activities and functions of DEWA. The Board members declare any conflicts of interest / related parties. The Executive Regulations of the Board detail the scope and functions of the Board. The Board may also set up permanent or temporary committees whenever there is a need.

The Governance Framework includes the classic components of governance such as Board oversight, a clear organization chart and span of control, a well documented strategy and proper delegation of financial and administrative authorities. There are a full suite of management level committees and comprehensive policies covering all functions. A Code of Conduct and Ethics and an Employee Handbook aid in dissemination of good governance elements within DEWA. In keeping with international guidelines, DEWA adopts the three lines of defense model with management and supervision being the first line; risk, compliance, legal and governance being the second line and internal audit as the third line.  The external auditors and the Government audit also enable a broad based control review system.

Governance in DEWA also incorporates technology governance, project governance, procurement governance, sustainability governance and water governance.

DEWA’s Governance is certified compliant under British Standard BSi 13500 on Corporate Governance. DEWA has also won recognition and awards for its good governance.

Strategic Direction

Our Vision

A sustainable innovative world-class utility.

Our Mission

We are committed to the happiness of our stakeholders and promoting Dubai’s vision through the delivery of sustainable electricity and water services at a world-class level of reliability, efficiency and safety in an environment that nurtures innovation with a competent workforce and effective partnerships; supporting resources sustainability.

Our Motto

For Generations to come.

Our Values

• Stakeholders Happiness

• Sustainability 

• Innovation 

• Excellence 

• Good Governance 


Federal and local.


Residential, commercial and  industrial.

DEWA People

Top management, middle management. non-supervisory and others.


Strategic and main partners.


Strategic, core and basic.


Institutional investors both local and foreign/banks, financial services and Independent power producers.


Environmental organisations, general public and media.

The strategy map provides a clear visual indicator of how the themes and the four perspectives of the third generation Balanced Scorecard interrelate to each other and form the overall strategy of the organisation.

The map is a visual interpretation of an organisation’s strategy.

It shows a logical, step-by-step connection between Themes, Perspectives and Strategic Objectives. It shows a cause-and-effect relationship from the bottom row (Support, Learning and Growth Perspective) to the top row (Triple Bottom Line Perspective) via Internal Processes and Stakeholders Perspectives.

Strategic Planning & Execution Framework

Phase one  - Strategic Plan Preparation and Approval:

The first phase entails the Preparation and Approval phase of the seven-year Strategic Plan of DEWA, which reviewed annually, then formulated and driven by the leaders and top management in DEWA. This is in line with the first principle of being a Strategy-Focused Organisation, i.e. Leadership involvement, and the second principle, i.e. translating it into DEWA’s strategy.

Phase two - Strategy Communication:

Communication is a continuous process that clearly bridges the gap between work knowledge and the strategic path chosen by top management and plays an integral role in ensuring the cascading and alignment of Divisions towards DEWA’s overall strategic direction. It also includes promoting a stronger culture of strategy throughout the organisation. Divisional heads play an important role in communicating strategy to develop employees’ commitment by empowering them with the information and direction they need to help them achieve their strategic direction. A vitally-important element is ensuring two-way communications – employees should be able to provide feedback to ensure that the communicated strategy is both understood and implemented.

Phase three - Cascading & Alignment:

After the approval and endorsement of the Strategic Plan and its communication, this phase largely involves preparing and aligning Divisions with the strategic direction of DEWA by establishing clear linkages to DEWA’s Strategy Map. This phase involves cascading DEWA’s strategy map and Balanced Scorecard, which contains the themes, strategic objectives, corporate KPIs and targets for the Divisional Strategy Maps and Balanced Scorecards, using the contributory approach. This phase also includes motivating, communicating and aligning all employees with DEWA’s overall strategic direction; ensuring that strategy is embedded in their everyday jobs by linking strategy and incentives to their smart objectives and performance appraisals. This alignment creates a synergy at the corporate level and ensures that DEWA is heading in the right direction.

Phase four  - Implementation & Execution:

This phase ensures the effective implementation and execution of the corporate strategy map through the cascaded Divisional Strategy Maps and Balanced Scorecards. Defined Divisional Balanced Scorecards will have their objectives, KPIs and targets, along with their employees’ smart objectives and appraisals, aligned to the Corporate Balanced Scorecard. Divisions will be responsible for their respective Divisional Balanced Scorecards and reporting their performance. Performance Management oversees the processes.

Phase five - Assessment & Review :

This phase involves the assessment and review of the Strategic Plan. Corporate Performance is assessed based on the performance of the Themes, Strategic Objectives and achievements of the KPI targets in DEWA’s Balanced Scorecard and monitoring initiatives.

As weights have been defined in Phase One – Preparation and Approval – for each theme, strategic objectives and corporate KPIs, this phase takes into account the performance of all Divisions. This also includes the reporting on the performance of DEWA’s Strategy Map and Balanced Scorecards to top management through the Strategic Executive Summary Reports.

Phase six - Innovate, Improve & Adapt:

In line with DEWA’s aim to continuously innovate and improve, as per the concept of Excellence, Corporate Strategy reviews DEWA’s Strategic Plan annually. This requires reviewing and updating the plan as and where deemed necessary and finding and adapting existing processes to best practices for Strategic Planning.

Strategy Management System

The strategy management process for Dubai Electricity and Water Authority in terms of formulation, execution, explanation, communication, assessment and update of its strategic plan is implemented on an annual basis using the third generation of the Balanced Scorecard that includes themes on the strategy map along with the concept of having Theme Champions.

It’s broken down into strategic objectives, corporate KPIs and initiatives which split across the four perspectives.

The four perspectives are: 

  • Triple-Bottom-Line Perspective: This is a modified perspective in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which incorporates sustainability into business decisions through accounting for the three dimensions: financial, social and environmental and thus, allowing to manage performance in a broader business context.
  • Stakeholder Perspective: Is a modified perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which expands the focus of DEWA’s value creation to all stakeholder categories.
  • Internal Processes Perspective: Is one of the four perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which focuses on the strategic priorities for various business processes leading to the satisfaction of both customers and shareholders.
  • To learning and growth: Is one of the four perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which focuses on the priorities to create an environment that supports organisational change, innovation, and growth to achieve excellence in our operations, and to create the necessary potential and improvements that should be available in DEWA.

The Balanced Scorecard shows a cause-and-effect relationship between the four perspectives. The Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are based on the need to provide leading and lagging indicators of an organisation’s performance.

DEWA uses the third generation Balanced Scorecard to manage and measure the performance of its strategic direction, broken down into the themes, strategic objectives and corporate KPIs.

 Key Performance Indicators

Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are significant measurements used to track and manage performance against strategic objectives. A KPI measures progress in the performance of an objective critical to the organisation’s strategic direction.

Corporate-level KPIs are determined under each Strategic Objective on DEWA’s Strategy Map to assess the overall progress in executing the corporate strategy. Selected KPIs should be understood, acceptable, have a well-defined formula and, above all, measurable.

Our country is blessed and so are we, living in this good land

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Visit Website

الحوكمة المؤسسية والاستراتيجية

حوكمة الشركات

حرصت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي  على تطبيق أفضل مبادئ حوكمة الشركات للمؤسسات المملوكة للدولة ، وذلك تماشياً مع توصيات منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية لعام 2015  . كما قامت الهيئة باعتماد أفضل الممارسات التي وضعها البنك الدولي لمزوّدي الكهرباء والمياه في جميع أنحاء العالم حيث تم فيها اتباع إطار شامل للحوكمة  شمل تطبيق سياسة للحوكمة، وميثاق للحوكمة.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي مملوكة  بنسبة 100٪ لحكومة دبي التي تعيّن مجلس إدارتها المكون من تسعة أعضاء بموجب مرسوم يصدره صاحب السمو حاكم دبي. ثمانية أعضاء في مجلس الإدارة هم مستقلون وغير تنفيذيين. ويتم تعيين العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي بموجب المرسوم. ويدير العضو المنتدب التنفيذي والرئيس التنفيذي جميع أنشطة ووظائف هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي. ويفصح  أعضاء مجلس الإدارة عن أي تعارض في المصالح ، فيما تحدد اللوائح التنفيذية للمجلس نطاق ومهام عمله. ويجوز للمجلس أيضاً إنشاء لجان دائمة أو مؤقتة كلما دعت الحاجة إلى ذلك.

ويشمل إطار الحوكمة العناصر الأساسية للحوكمة مثل الرقابة على المجلس، والهيكل التنظيمي الواضح والصلاحيات، واستراتيجية موثقة بشكل جيد، وتفويض السلطات المالية والإدارية على نحو سليم. كذلك هناك مجموعة كاملة من اللجان على مستوى الإدارة وسياسات شاملة لتغطية جميع الوظائف، إضافة إلى  ميثاق قواعد السلوك الوظيفي والأخلاقيات ودليل الموظف في نشر عناصر الحوكمة الرشيدة داخل هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي. وتماشياً مع المبادئ التوجيهية العالمية، تتبنى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي سياسة حماية  تتضمن ثلاثة خطوط دفاعية، تكون فيها الإدارة والإشراف الخط الأول، والمخاطر، والامتثال، والقانونية والحوكمة الخط الثاني، والتدقيق الداخلي كخط ثالث. ويقدم مدققو الحسابات الخارجيون والتدقيق الحكومي أيضا نظاماً واسع النطاق للمراجعة.

وتشمل الحوكمة في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي أيضاً حوكمة التكنولوجيا، وحوكمة المشاريع، وحوكمة المشتريات، وحوكمة الاستدامة، وحوكمة المياه.

وتعتمد الحوكمة في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على المعايير البريطانية BSi 13500   لحوكمة الشركات، حيث حازت على تقدير وجوائز  لحوكمتها الرشيدة.


التوجه الاستراتيجي

رؤيتنا

مؤسسة مستدامة مُبتكِرة على مستوى عالمي.

 

رسالتنا

نلتزم بتحقيق السعادة لكافة المعنيين وتعزيز رؤية دبي من خلال تقديم خدمات مستدامة للكهرباء والمياه بمستوى عالمي من الاعتمادية والكفاءة والسلامة ضمن بيئة محفزة للابتكار، بكادر مؤهل وشراكات فعّالة، داعمين لديمومة الموارد.

 

شعارنا

لأجيالنا القادمة.

 

قيمنا

•  إسعاد المعنيين

•  الاستدامة

•  الابتكار

•  التميز

•  الحوكمة الرشيدة


الحكومة

اتحادياً ومحلياً.

المتعاملون 

سكني، تجاري وصناعي.


موظفو الهيئة

الإدارة العليا، الإدارة المتوسطة، الجهات غير الإشرافية، آخرون .

الشركاء 

الشركاء الاستراتيجيون،والشركاء الرئيسيون.

الموردون/ المقاولون

الاستراتيجيون/ الأساسيون.

المستثمرون

المؤسسات الاسثمارية المحلية والأجنبية/ المصارف/ الخدمات المالية، مطورو المنتج المستقل .



المجتمع والأجيال القادمة

المؤسسات البيئية، الجمهور، ووسائل الإعلام.

تعتمد الهيئة الجيل الثالث من نظام بطاقات قياس الأداء المتوازن الذي يوفر اّلية منظمة لترجمة وتطبيق الخطة الاستراتيجية من خلال ترجمة مجموعة من الشرائح الاستراتيجية التي تمثل التوجهات الاستراتيجية العليا للهيئة (Strategic Themes).
 تتكون كل شريحة استراتيجية من مجموعة من الأهداف الاستراتيجية موزعة على المناظير الاستراتيجية القياسية (مَنْظور ثلاثي الأبعاد، مَنْظورالمعنيين، مَنْظور العمليات الداخلية، مَنْظور الدعم والتعلم والنمو).

توضح الخارطة الاستراتيجية العلاقة السببية (هرمية البناء) بين الأهداف الاستراتيجية للهيئة وكيفية الربط المنطقي بين هذه الأهداف التي تشكل التسلسل المنطقي لتحقيق أهداف استراتيجية الهيئة. 


Dewa Strategy

التخطيط الاستراتيجي وإطار التنفيذ

المرحلة الأولى – إعداد الخطة الاستراتيجية واعتمادها:

تتمثل المرحلة الأولى في إعداد الخطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة لمدة سبع سنوات واعتمادها. وتخضع الخطة لمراجعة سنوية ومن ثم صياغتها وتطبيقها من قبل الإدارة العليا في الهيئة. وتنسجم هذه المرحلة مع المبدأ الأول للمؤسسات التي ترتكز على الاستراتيجية في أداء أعمالها وهو المبدأ الخاص بمشاركة الإدارة العليا، والمبدأ الثاني الخاص بترجمتها ودمجها في إستراتيجية الهيئة.


المرحلة الثانية – نشر الاستراتيجية والتعرف بها:

التواصل هي عملية مستمرة تعنى برأب الصدع بين المعرفة المهنية والتوجه الاستراتيجي الذي تختاره الإدارة العليا. وتلعب هذه المرحلة دوراً رئيسياً في ضمان مطابقة القطاعات من أجل تحقيق التوجه الاستراتيجي الكلي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي. كما تتضمن الترويج لثقافة أقوى للاستراتيجية في مختلف قطاعات الهيئة. ويضطلع رؤساء القطاعات بدور مهم في إيصال الاستراتيجية لتعزيز التزام الموظفين من خلال تزويدهم بالمعلومات والإرشادات التي يحتاجونها لمساعدتهم في تحقيق التوجه الإستراتيجي. والعنصر الحيوي المهم هو ضمان التواصل المتبادل بين الأطراف، فمن المهم أن يتمكن الموظفون من إبداء آرائهم لضمان فهم وتنفيذ الاستراتيجية.


المرحلة الثالثة - المواءمة:

بعد الموافقة على الخطة الاستراتيجية واعتمادها والتعريف بها، تتضمن هذه المرحلة إعداد القطاعات ومواءمتها مع التوجهات الاستراتيجية للهيئة من خلال الربط الواضح لخارطة الهيئة الاستراتيجية. وتتضمن هذه المرحلة مواءمة الخارطة الاستراتيجية وبطاقة الأداء المتوازن للهيئة والتي تضم الشرائح الاستراتيجية، والأهداف الاستراتيجية، ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية للهيئة وأهداف الخرائط الإستراتيجية للقطاعات باستخدام منهج المساهمة. كما تتضمن هذه المرحلة عملية تحفيز ومواءمة جميع العاملين مع التوجه الاستراتيجي الكلي للهيئة وضمان دمج الاستراتيجية في أعمالهم اليومية من خلال ربط الاستراتيجية والحوافز بالأهداف الذكية وعمليات تقييم الأداء. وتوفر عملية المطابقة تناغماً على مستوى الهيئة وضمان سير الهيئة في الطريق الصحيح.


المرحلة الرابعة – التنفيذ والتطبيق:

تضمن هذه المرحلة التنفيذ والتطبيق الفعال للخارطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة من خلال مواءمة المخططات الاستراتيجية للقطاعات مع بطاقة الأداء المتوازن. ولبطاقة الأداء المتوازن لكل قطاع أهدافها ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية الخاصة بها والغايات مع الأهداف الذكية للموظفين وعمليات تقييم الموظفين والتي يتم مواءمتها مع بطاقة الأداء المتوازن للهيئة. حيث أن القطاعات مسؤولة عن بطاقات الأداء المتوازن الخاصة بها وإعداد التقاريرعن أدائها وقيام إدارة الأداء بالإشراف على العمليات. 


المرحلة الخامسة – التقييم والمراجعة:

تتضمن هذه المرحلة عملية تقييم ومراجعة الخطة الإستراتيجية. ويتم تقييم أداء الهيئة استناداً إلى أداء الشرائح الاستراتيجية، والأهداف الاستراتيجية وتحقيق أهداف مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن ومبادرات الرصد في الهيئة. بالنظر إلى المكونات المعرفة في المرحلة الأولى – الإعداد والموافقة – لكل شريحة استراتيجية، أهداف استراتيجية، ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية للهيئة، فإن هذه المرحلة تراعي أداء جميع القطاعات. ويتضمن ذلك تقديم التقارير حول أداء الخارطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة وبطاقة الأداء المتوازن إلى الإدارة العليا من خلال تقرير ملخص التنفيذ الإستراتيجي.

المرحلة السادسة – الابتكار والتحسين والتأقلم:

انسجاماً مع أهداف هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي بمواصلة الإبتكار والتحسين وفق معايير التميز، تقوم إدارة الاستراتيجية المؤسسية بمراجعة الخطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة بشكل سنوي. ويتطلب هذا مراجعة وتحديث الخطة حيثما كان ضرورياً وتطبيق ومواءمة العمليات القائمة مع أفضل ممارسات التخطيط الاستراتيجي.

نظام إدارة الاستراتيجية

تتم عملية إدارة الاستراتيجية لهيئة كهرباء مياه دبي من حيث إعداد وتنفيذ وشرح وإيصال وتقييم وتحديث خطة الهيئة الإستراتيجية على أساس سنوي ومن خلال تطبيق الجيل الثالث من بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والذي يتضمن الشرائح على الخارطة الاستراتيجية وكذلك مفهوم "مسؤولي الشرائح".

 ويتم تقسيم بطاقة الأداء المتوازن إلى أهداف استراتيجية، ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية، والمبادرات التي تنقسم بدورها الى أربعة مناظير.

وهذه المناظير الأربعة هي:

  • المنظور ثلاثي الأبعاد: أحد المناظير المعدلة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يسمح بدمج الاستدامة ضمن عمليات وقرارات الهيئة عبر ثلاثة أبعاد: المالي والاجتماعي والبيئي ومن ثم السماح بإدارة الأداء في سياق أوسع للأعمال.
  • منظور المعنيين: أحد المناظير المعدلة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والتي تركز على خلق قيمة وتمايز من وجهة نظر المتعامل.
  • منظور العمليات الداخلية: أحد المناظير الأربعة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يركز على الأولويات الاستراتيجية لمختلف عمليات الأعمال، والذي يؤدي إلى رضا كل من المتعاملين والمساهمين.
  • منظور التعليم والنمو: أحد المناظير الأربعة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يركز على أولويات لخلق المناخ الذي يدعم التغيير التنظيمي، والابتكار، والنمو للوصول إلى التميز في عملياتنا، وما يجب أن يتوفر في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي من قدرات وتحسينات لازمة.

تظهر بطاقة الأداء المتوازن علاقة السبب والنتيجة بين المناظير الأربعة. وتعتمد مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على ضرورة توفير المؤشرات المبركة والمتأخرة لأداء المؤسسة.

تستخدم هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الجيل الثالث من بطاقات الأداء المتوازن لإدارة وقياس أداء توجهها الاستراتيجي، موزعة إلى موضوعات، وأهداف استراتيجية ومؤشرات أداء مؤسسية.


مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية 

مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية هي مقاييس مهمة تستخدم لمتابعة وإدارة الأداء من أجل تنفيذ الأهداف الاستراتيجية. وتعمل مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على قياس مدى التقدم في أداء الأهداف المهمة للتوجه الاستراتيجي للهيئة.


يتم تحديد مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على مستوى الهيئة وفق كل هدف استراتيجي في الخارطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة وذلك من أجل تقييم التقدم العام في تنفيذ استراتيجية الهيئة. ويتعين أن تكون مؤشرات الأداء التي يتم اختيارها مفهومة، ومقبولة، وتحظى بتركيبة محددة وواضحة، والأهم من ذلك أن تكون قابلة للقياس.

دولتنا بخير ونحن مباركون من الله تعالى أن جعلنا من أهل هذه الأرض الطيبة.

مجلس محمد بن راشد الذكي

مجلس محمد بن راشد الذكي

زيارة الموقع