Our History

Dubai Electricity and Water Authority – a continuous success story

Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) was formed on 1 January, 1992, by a decree issued by the late Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid Al Maktoum to merge Dubai Electricity Company and Dubai Water Department, which had been operating independently before then. Both organisations were established by the late Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum in 1959. Dubai Government fully supported the Electricity Company and the Water Department to provide Dubai’s citizens and residents with a continuous and reliable supply of electricity and water. Since then, DEWA has made considerable achievements, to be ranked as one of the best utilities in the world. DEWA provides services today to more than 780,000 customers with a happiness rate that reached 95% in 2016.

DEWA has achieved competitive results, surpassing leading European and American companies by reducing losses in power transmission and distribution networks to 3.3%, compared to 6-7% in Europe and the USA. Water network losses decreased to 8.0 %, compared to 15% in North America, achieving global results in reducing water losses. DEWA’s results are among the best internationally for customer minutes lost per year. DEWA’s figures reached 3.28  minutes, compared to 15 minutes recorded by leading utilities in the European Union. The UAE, represented by DEWA, has been ranked first in the Middle East and North Africa and fourth globally for the fourth consecutive year for getting electricity as per the World Bank’s Doing Business 2017 report.

DEWA is working to expand the M-Station, the largest power production and desalination plant in the UAE. The new combined-cycle power plant will add a further 700 megawatts (MW) to the installed generating capacity of the station, boosting its capacity to 2,760MW when the project is completed in 2018. This will boost DEWA’s current installed capacity of  10,000 MW of electricity and 470 million imperial gallons per day (MIGD) of desalinated water to meet Dubai’s demand. The Hassyan Clean Coal Power Plant is another pioneering project implemented by DEWA based on the IPP model. Hassyan clean coal power project will have a total coal-fired capacity of 2,400 MW. The power station will be fully-operational by 2023.

DEWA is managing and operating the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park, which is the largest single-site solar project in the world. It will produce 1,000MW by 2020 and 5,000MW by 2030, with total investment of AED 50 billion.

The Solar Park was launched in 2012 and the 13MW first phase became operational on 22 October 2013. The IPP-based 200MW second phase will be operational in April 2017. The solar park has an innovation centre that includes a number of research and development laboratories in clean energy and will oversee research and development projects, with a total investment of AED 500 million until 2020.

In November 2015, HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, launched the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050 to make Dubai a global centre for clean energy and green economy. The strategy aims to provide 7% of Dubai’s energy from clean sources by 2020, 25% by 2030, and 75% by 2050. It consists of five main pillars: infrastructure, legislation, funding, building capacities and skills, and an environmentally-friendly energy mix.

DEWA has also launched three smart initiatives to support the Smart Dubai initiative to make Dubai the smartest city in the world. These are Shams Dubai, to encourage building owners to install photovoltaic (PV) solar panels to generate electricity. The electricity generated is used inside the premises and the surplus is exported to DEWA’s grid. This encourages the use of renewable energy, increases its share in the energy mix, and diversifies energy sources. The Smart Applications and Meters initiative contributes to fast-service connection, fast response, and rationalising energy use. The Green Charger initiative establishes the infrastructure and electric vehicle charging stations. DEWA has established so far 100  charging stations, and working on additional  stations.

To emphasise its commitment to sustainability, which is one of the main pillars of World Expo 2020 in Dubai, DEWA is working in line with the vision of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, to host the best World Expo that the world has ever seen in Dubai. DEWA will contribute to achieving this by building world-class energy infrastructure that meets Dubai’s development demands. DEWA has launched a wide variety of initiatives in this regard, allocating AED 3 billion to boost water, electricity and renewable energy projects according to the highest international standards. This supports Dubai Expo’s theme of ‘Connecting Minds, Creating the Future’ and its three sub themes of sustainability, mobility and opportunity.


Our country is blessed and so are we, living in this good land

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Visit Website

تاريخ الهيئة


هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي... قصة نجاح مستمرة

أنشئت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي في الأول من يناير 1992 بموجب مرسوم أصدره المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ مكتوم بن راشد آل مكتوم، لدمج "شركة كهرباء دبي" و"دائرة مياه دبي" اللتين كانتا تعملان بشكل مستقل على مدى سنوات عديدة منذ تأسيسهما على يد المغفور له بإذن الله الشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم في العام 1959. ومنذ نشأتهما، فقد قدمت حكومة دبي الدعم الكامل لـ "شركة كهرباء دبي" و"دائرة مياه دبي" بهدف توفير ما يحتاج إليه المواطنون والمقيمون في دبي من الطاقة الكهربائية والمياه بصورة مستقرة لا يشوبها انقطاع. ومنذ ذلك الوقت حققت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي إنجازات كبيرة جعلتها واحدة من أفضل المؤسسات الخدماتية في العالم، حتى أصبحت اليوم تقدم خدماتها لأكثر من 780 ألف متعامل، بلغت نسبة سعادتهم نحو 95% في عام 2016.

لقد تفوقت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي تفوقت على نخبة الشركات الأوروبية والأمريكية محققة نتائج تنافسية على مستوى العالم، وتجلى ذلك في نجاحها بخفض نسبة الفاقد في شبكات نقل وتوزيع الكهرباء إلى حوالي 3.3% مقارنة مع نسبة 6-7% في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. كما وانخفضت نسبة الفاقد في شبكات المياه إلى نحو 8.0 % مقارنة مع 15% في أمريكا الشمالية لتحقق بذلك معدلات عالمية رائدة على صعيد خفض الفاقد المائي. يضاف إلى ذلك أن شركة كهرباء ومياه دبي تمكنت من تحقيق أفضل النتائج العالمية في معدل انقطاع الكهرباء لكل مشترك سنوياً، والذي بلغ 3.28 دقيقة انقطاع للمشترك مقارنة مع 15 دقيقة مسجلة لدى نخبة شركات الكهرباء في دول الاتحاد الأوروبي مما قاد دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ممثلة بهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، وللعام الرابع على التوالي، لاحتلال المرتبة الأولى على مستوى الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، والرابعة عالمياً في الحصول على الكهرباء بحسب نتائج "تقرير ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2017" الصادر عن البنك الدولي.

وتعمل الهيئة على توسعة المحطة "إم" لتوليد الكهرباء وتحلية المياه، وهي أكبر محطة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث يشمل مشروع التوسعة وحدات توليد كهرباء جديدة بقدرة إنتاجية تبلغ 700 ميجاوات، تضاف إلى القدرة الإنتاجية الحالية للمحطة، لتصبح القدرة الإنتاجية الكلية لها نحو 2,760 ميجاوات بعد إنجاز مشروع التوسعة في العام 2018، بما يعزز القدرة الإنتاجية للهيئة، والتي تبلغ حالياً نحو 10,000 ميجاوات من الكهرباء، و470 مليون جالون من المياه المحلاة يومياً لتلبية الطلب الحالي في إمارة دبي. كما تعمل الهيئة على إنجاز مشروع رائد آخر في مجال الطاقة هو مجمع حصيان لإنتاج الطاقة بتقنية الفحم النظيف، وفق نظام المنتج المستقل، بقدرة إنتاجية تبلغ 2400 ميجاوات، ومن المتوقع أن يتم الانتهاء من جميع المرحل في المجمع بحلول عام 2023.

تعمل الهيئة على إدارة وتشغيل مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، والذي يعد أكبر مشروعات الطاقة الشمسية في العالم في موقع واحد وفق نظام المنتج المستقل، حيث ستبلغ قدرته الإنتاجية 1,000 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2020، و5,000 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2030، باستثمارات إجمالية تصل إلى 50 مليار درهم. 

تم إطلاق المجمع في عام 2012، وبدأت عملية تشغيل المرحلة الأولى بقدرة 13 ميجاوات في 22 أكتوبر 2013، وسيتم تشغيل المرحلة الثانية وفق نظام المنتج المستقل بقدرة 200 ميجاوات في أبريل 2017. ويضم المجمع مركز هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي للابتكار، والذي يضم تحت مظلته مجموعة من مختبرات البحث والتطوير في مجال مستقبل الطاقة النظيفة، وسيشرف على إدارة مشاريع بحثية وتطويرية بمجموع استثمارات تصل إلى 500 مليون درهم حتى عام 2020.

وفي نوفمبر 2015، أطلق صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، استراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050 التي تستهدف تحويل الإمارة إلى مركز عالمي للطاقة النظيفة والاقتصاد الأخضر. وتهدف هذه الاستراتيجية إلى توفير 7% من طاقة دبي من مصادر الطاقة النظيفة بحلول عام 2020 و25% بحلول عام 2030 و75% بحلول عام 2050.

وتركز هذه الاستراتيجية على 5 مسارات رئيسة هي البنية التحتية والبنية التشريعية والتمويل وبناء القدرات والكفاءات وتوظيف مزيج الطاقة الصديق للبيئة.

كما وقد أطلقت الهيئة ثلاث مبادرات ذكية في سبيل تحقيق مبادرة "دبي الذكية" التي تهدف بشكل رئيسي لأن تكون دبي المدينة الأذكى في العالم، ومنها مبادرة "شمس دبي" التي تتمحور حول تشجيع أصحاب المنازل والمباني على تركيب لوحات كهروضوئية تنتج الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية، تقوم الهيئة بربطها واستخدامها داخل المباني مع تحويل الفائض إلى شبكة الهيئة، الأمر الذي يشجع الجمهور على استخدام الطاقة المتجددة وزيادة نصيبها في إنتاج الكهرباء وتنويع مصادر الطاقة. وتشتمل مبادرات الهيئة كذلك على "التطبيقات والعدادات الذكية" التي تسهم في سرعة توصيل الخدمة وسرعة الاستجابة وترشيد استهلاك الطاقة، و"الشاحن الأخضر" لإﻧﺸــﺎء ﺍﻟﺒﻨﻴــﺔ ﺍﻟﺘﺤﺘﻴــﺔ ومحطات شحن السيارات الكهربائية، حيث بات لدى الهيئة 100 محطة شاحن أخضر حتى الآن، كما تعمل على تركيب محطات إضافية في المستقبل القريب.

وتأكيداً لالتزامها بتعزيز الاستدامة، والتي تشكل ركيزة أساسية لمعرض "إكسبو 2020 دبي"، تعمل هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي وفق رؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، لاستضافة أفضل نسخة لمعرض إكسبو يمكن أن يشهدها العالم على الإطلاق في إمارة دبي، حيث تسعى لتحقيق ذلك عبر التركيز على تهيئة بنية تحتية مميزة للطاقة من شأنها أن تلبي جميع احتياجات التنمية في الإمارة. وقد أطلقت الهيئة عدداً من المبادرات الناجحة وخصصت أكثر من 3 مليار درهم لدعم البنية التحتية من مشاريع الكهرباء والمياه والطاقة المتجددة، وفق أفضل المعايير العالمية، وبما يتوافق بشكل كامل مع شعار معرض "إكسبو 2020 دبي" المتمثل في "تواصل العقول .. وصنع المستقبل"، وموضوعاته الفرعية الثلاثة المتمحورة حول الاستدامة والتنقل والفرص.


تواصل معنا بالهاتف

الهاتف والفاكس

التواصل بالبريد الإلكتروني

البريد أو البريد الإلكتروني

  • customercare@dewa.gov.ae
  • ص. ب. 564 دبي، دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

  • سنقوم بالرد خلال 24 ساعة
تواصل معنا عبر مواقعنا

تفضل بزيارتنا

أنا عربي، من أبٍ عربي وأمٍّ عربية، رضعت حب العروبة منذ الطفولة، وانتميت إلى دوحتها.

Happiness Icon