Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park

Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park

In January 2012, HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, launched the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park. It is the largest single-site solar park in the world. It expands over 77 square kilometres, and will generate 1,000MW by 2020 and 5,000MW by 2030, with total investments worth up to AED 50 billion. Upon completion, the solar park will reduce over 6.5 million tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions annually.

First Phase

On 22 October 2013, the 13MW first phase of the solar park became operational. The project contributed to reducing carbon emissions. This was proved and accredited according to the clean development mechanism. The first phase was another important step in achieving Dubai’s objectives to diversify its energy mix. The project uses over 152,000 photocells connected to 13 step-up transformers in inverter buildings. The output voltage is transformed to 33 kilovolts and generates over 28 million kilowatt-hours of electricity annually. It also decreases carbon emissions by 15,000 tonnes annually.

Second Phase

The 200MW second phase of the solar park. It is the first and largest project of its kind in the region, based on the Independent Power Producer (IPP) model. It was implemented in partnership with the consortium led by ACWA Power from Saudi Arabia and Spain’s TSK, with an investment of AED 1.2 billion. This phase will generate clean energy for 50,000 residences in Dubai, and will reduce 214,000 tonnes of carbon emissions a year. This phase installed 2.3 million photovoltaic solar panels over 4.5 square kilometres. It incorporated 1.5 million Safe Man Hours without Lost Time Injury.

Third Phase

In June 2016, DEWA announced the Abu Dubai Future Energy Company (Masdar) led consortium as selected bidder for the 800MW third phase of the solar park. The consortium bid the lowest cost of electricity, which will be constructed based on the IPP model. The consortium bid a Levelised Cost of Electricity (LCOE) of USD2.99 cents per kilowatt (kW). The third phase will be implemented in stages until 2020.

CSP Project

DEWA is also working to build the largest Concentrated Solar Power (CSP) project in the world, based on the IPP model. The 200 megawatt first phase of the CSP plant will be operational by April 2021, and DEWA will generate 1,000 megawatts using this technology by 2030. On 4 October 2016, DEWA released a request for the Expression of Interest (EOI) for the CSP project. It received 30 Expressions of Interest (EOI) from international developers by the closing date of 27 October 2016. The Request for Proposals (RFP) was released to qualified bidders on 15 January 2017. The submission date for this tender is May 2017.

Innovation centre

DEWA is developing an interactive innovation centre, equipped with the latest technologies in clean and renewable energy, to enhance national energy skills, support business competitiveness, and encourage social awareness about renewable and sustainable energy. The centre’s design features five floors, at a height of 90 metres. The project will be complete by 2017.

The R&D centre

The R&D centre was launched in 2014. It is currently under construction and will be completed by 2020. The R&D centre will focus on four key operations:

  1. Producing electricity using solar energy:Research, conducted in cooperation with international organisations, will focus on studying photovoltaic panels, and limiting the impact of dust, to maintain their performance. It will also test their long-term capability and develop criteria and specifications that suit the local environment.
  2. Integration of Smart Grids: DEWA will conduct research to develop models, and smart grid technologies and systems. These include studying loads, monitoring energy consumption, the effect of new technologies on the grids, renewable energy and storage technologies, electric vehicle infrastructure, 3D printing, and using drone in operations and maintenance.
  3. Energy Efficiency: DEWA cooperates with partners and educational institutions all over the world, to invest in innovation and creativity, and work to develop the next generation’s capabilities of using solar energy through many pioneering initiatives.
  4. Water: DEWA is working to develop sustainable solutions to desalinate and purify water using solar energy. DEWA also aims to develop technology to produce drinking water, by collecting humidity from the air.


To view the PDF documents supporting accessibility options, please download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader

Solar Park Brochure

PDF | 2 MB | 19/12/2016

Download opens a new window

contact us by phone

Phone and Fax

contact us by email

Mail and Email

contact us by location

Visit us

Our country is blessed, and so are we, living on this good land.

Happiness Icon

مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية

مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية

في يناير 2012، أعلن صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، عن إطلاق مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، والذي يعد أكبر مشروع للطاقة الشمسية في العالم في موقع واحد وفق نظام المنتج المستقل. يمتد المجمع على مساحة تبلغ 77 كيلومتر مربع، وستبلغ قدرته الإنتاجية 1,000 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2020، و5,000 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2030، باستثمارات إجمالية تصل إلى 50 مليار درهم. وسوف يسهم المجمع عند اكتماله في تخفيض أكثر من 6.5 مليون طن من انبعاثات الكربون سنوياً.

المرحلة الأولى

في 22 أكتوبر 2013، تم تشغيل المرحلة الأولى من المجمع بقدرة 13 ميجاوات. وساهم المشروع في تقليل الانبعاثات الكربونية بشكل كمي ومثبت تم اعتماده وإصداره وفق آلية التنمية النظيفة. وشكّل تنفيذ المرحلة الأولى خطوة مهمة جديدة في تحقيق أهداف إمارة دبي الرامية الى تنويع مصادر الطاقة في الإمارة. وتستخدم المحطة أكثر من 152 ألف خلية ضوئية متصلة بـ 13 محولة موضوعة في مباني عاكسة تحول الجهد إلى33  كيلوفولت، وتنتج نحو 28 مليون كيلووات/ ساعة من الكهرباء سنوياً، تساهم في تخفيض أكثر من 15 ألف طن من الانبعاثات الكربونية سنوياً.

المرحلة الثانية

المرحلة الثانية من المجمع بقدرة 200 ميجاوات من الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية، وتعد أكبر وأول مشروع من نوعه للطاقة الشمسية في المنطقة وفق نظام المنتج المستقل، وتم تنفيذها بالتعاون مع تحالف تقوده شركة "أكوا باور" السعودية و شركة "تي إس كيه" الإسبانية ، وبتكلفة تصل إلى 1.2 مليار درهم. وتوفر تلك المرحلة الطاقة النظيفة لنحو 50 ألف مسكن في دبي، وتسهم في تخفيض 214 ألف طن من انبعاثات الكربون سنوياً. وتضمنت هذه المرحلة تركيب 2.3 مليون لوح من الألواح الشمسية الكهروضوئية على مساحة 4.5 كيلومتر مربع. وتضمن العمل في المشروع أكثر من مليون ونصف مليون ساعة عمل آمنة من دون تسجيل أية اصابات خلال عملية التنفيذ.

المرحلة الثالثة

في يونيو 2016، أعلنت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي عن فوز الائتلاف الذي تقوده شركة أبوظبي لطاقة المستقبل (مصدر) بمناقصة تنفيذ المرحلة الثالثة من مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، بقدرة 800 ميجاوات بنظام المنتج المستقل، حيث سجلت رقماً عالمياً جديداً في مجال تكلفة الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية بعد حصولها على أدنى سعر عالمي بلغ 2.99 سنت/دولار لكل كيلووات في الساعة بنظام المنتج المستقل للمرحلة الثالثة من المجمع التي سيتم تنفيذها على مراحل حتى عام 2020.

مشروع الطاقة الشمسية المركزة

تعمل هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على بناء أكبر مشروع للطاقة الشمسية المركزة  (CSP)في العالم بنظام المنتج المستقل، وستدخل المرحلة الأولى من محطة الطاقة الشمسية المركزة بقدرة 200 ميجاوات، حيز التشغيل بحلول إبريل 2021، للوصول الى 1000 ميجاوات بهذه التقنية بحلول عام 2030. وكانت الهيئة قد دعت الشركات المتخصصة لإرسال خطابات إبداء الاهتمام لإنجاز محطة الطاقة الشمسية المركزة في 4 أكتوبر 2016، وتلقت 30 خطاب اهتمام من مطورين عالميين حتى تاريخ الإغلاق في 27 من أكتوبر 2016. وطرحت الهيئة مناقصة المشروع يوم 15 يناير 2017، على أن يكون الموعد النهائي لتسليم العروض النهائية في شهر مايو 2017.

مركز الابتكار

تعمل الهيئة على إنشاء مركز تفاعلي للابتكار مجهز بأحدث التقنيات الحديثة للطاقة المتجددة والنظيفة لتعزيز مستوى الوعي في المجتمع حول الطاقة المتجددة والمستدامة وصقل القدرات الوطنية وتعزيز تنافسية الأعمال، وذلك بتصميم ريادي مبتكر يضم طابقاً أرضياً وأربع طوابق بارتفاع 90 متراً. ومن المتوقع الانتهاء من المشروع بالكامل في عام 2017 .

مركز البحوث والتطوير:

تم إطلاق مركز البحوث والتطوير في عام 2014 وهو حالياً في مرحلة التنفيذ على أن تكتمل جميع أقسامه بحلول عام 2020. وتتمحور أعمال مركز البحوث والتطوير حول أربع مجالات تشغيلية رئيسية تشمل: 

  1. انتاج الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية: ستركز  البحوث بالتعاون مع مؤسسات عالمية، على عدد من المجالات أبرزها دراسة تقنية الألواح الكهروضوئية و الحد من آثار الغبار على كفاءتها وأداءها، واختبار موثوقيتها على المدى الطويل بهدف تطوير مواصفات ومعايير تتلائم مع البيئة المحلية.
  2. تكامل الشبكة الذكية: تسخر البحوث لوضع نماذج لدراسة وتطوير تقنيات وأنظمة الشبكات الذكية، ومنها دراسة الأحمال ومراقبة استهلاك الطاقة، ومدى تأثير التقنيات الجديدة على الشبكة بدءاً من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة وصولاً الى تقنيات تخزينها ومعدات السيارات الكهربائية، وإجراء البحوث حول استخدام تقنية الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد، واستخدام الطائرات الروبوتية وتطبيقاتها في أعمال التشغيل والصيانة.
  3. كفاءة الطاقة: تعمل الهيئة مع شركائها والمؤسسات التعليمية حول العالم في تسخير الابداع والابتكار والكفاءات الشابة لتطوير استخدامات الطاقة الشمسية وكفاءتها من خلال العديد من المبادرات الرائدة
  4. المياه: تعمل الهيئة على إيجاد وتطوير حلول مستدامة لتحلية وتنقية المياه باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية، وتقنية إنتاج مياه نقية للشرب وتجميعها من الرطوبة المتوفرة في الغلاف الجوي.


لعرض الملفات بصيغة (PDF) تدعم خيارات التصفح، يرجى تحميل آخر إصدار من برنامج قارئ أدوبي

كتيب مجمع محمد بن راشد للطاقة الشمسية

PDF | 3 MB | 19/12/2016

حمل الآن opens a new window

تواصل معنا بالهاتف

الهاتف والفاكس

التواصل بالبريد الإلكتروني

البريد أو البريد الإلكتروني

  • customercare@dewa.gov.ae
  • ص. ب. 564 دبي، دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

  • سنقوم بالرد خلال 24 ساعة
تواصل معنا عبر مواقعنا

تفضل بزيارتنا

اتحادنا ابن واقعنا، يشبهه ويحمل جيناته، لقد امتزجت روح الاتحاد مع حسابات العقل، فكان النجاح

Happiness Icon