Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (DEWA) | Smart Grid

Smart Grid

Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) is actively contributing to transform Dubai into the smartest city in the world. To support this objective, DEWA developed a comprehensive strategy to implement a smart water and electricity infrastructure. This is what we call a Smart Grid, which will provide advanced features and includes automated decision-making and interoperability across the entire electricity and water network. DEWA’s Smart Grid Programme, with investments totaling AED 7 billion, supports the directives and the vision of HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, to make Dubai the smartest and happiest city in the world.

The programme is a key element in DEWA’s strategy to develop an advanced infrastructure. It supports the Dubai Demand side Management Strategy 2030 and its overall objective of 30% demand reduction by 2030. To implement the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050, DEWA has worked on major programmes to diversify its energy mix and manage the demand for electricity. By 2030, 25% of Dubai’s energy mix will be generated from solar power, 7% from nuclear, 7% from clean coal and 61% from natural gas. The strategy also aims to provide 75% of Dubai’s total power output from clean energy by 2050.

In 2014, DEWA developed its first Smart Grid strategy up to 2035, which is a key component of a smart city. DEWA successfully completed the short-term goals of the Smart Grid Strategy 2014-2035. In 2021, DEWA launched its updated Smart Grid Strategy up to 2035, evolving from a technology-led approach to a value-driven approach, as well as transitioning DEWA’s 10 smart grid programmes into 6 themes, covering 19 globally leading smart grid capabilities.


The following are the main governance themes that ensure a smooth, quick, and effective functioning of DEWA’s Smart Grid.

  • Foundational Capabilities
  • Grid Automation
  • Smart Energy Solutions and Green Mobility
  • Smart Water
  • Smart Grid Artificial Intelligence
  • Innovative Value-Added Services


For more information about DEWA’s Smart Grid, please read DEWA Smart Grid Report 2021 here.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ديوا) | الشبكة الذكية

الشبكة الذكية

تساهم هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي بشكل فعال في تحويل دبي إلى المدينة الأذكى في العالم. ولدعم هذا الهدف، وضعت الهيئة استراتيجية شاملة لتنفيذ بنية تحتية ذكية للمياه والكهرباء، وهو ما نطلق عليه اسم "الشبكة الذكية". وتوفر الشبكات الذكية خصائص متقدمة تشمل قدرات اتخاذ القرار التلقائي، وإمكانية التشغيل التبادلية بين مختلف أنحاء شبكة الكهرباء والمياه. ينسجم برنامج الشبكة الذكية التابع للهيئة، والذي يبلغ مجموع استثماراته 7 مليارات درهم، مع توجيهات ورؤية صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، بأن تكون دبي المدينة الأذكى والأسعد في العالم.

يعد البرنامج عنصراً أساسياً في استراتيجية الهيئة لتطوير بنية تحتية متقدمة تدعم استراتيجية إدارة الطلب على الطاقة والمياه 2030، التي تهدف إلى تخفيض الطلب على الكهرباء والمياه بنسبة 30% بحلول عام 2030. وانسجاماً مع استراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050، أطلقت الهيئة برامج رئيسية لتنويع مصادر الطاقة وإدارة الطلب على الكهرباء. وبحلول عام 2030، ستشمل مصادر الطاقة في الإمارة 25% من الطاقة الشمسية، و7% من الطاقة النووية، و7% من الفحم النظيف، و61% من الغاز الطبيعي. وتهدف الاستراتيجية أيضاً إلى توفير 75% من القدرة الإنتاجية للطاقة في دبي من مصادر الطاقة النظيفة بحلول عام 2050.

في العام 2014 ، طورت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي أول استراتيجيتها الخاصة بالشبكة الذكية حتى عام 2035 والتي تعد عنصرا أساسيا للمدن الذكية. عقب تحقيقها بنجاح لكافة أهداف المرحلة القصيرة من استراتيجيتها الخاصة بالشبكة الذكية 2014- 2035، أطلقت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي استراتيجية الشبكة الذكية 2021 حتى عام 2035  ، والتي تطورت من نهج قائم على التكنولوجيا إلى نهج قائم على القيمة، بالإضافة الى تحويل الهيئة برامجها العشرة (10) إلى ستة محاور أساسية تغطي  تسعة عشر ممكن من ممكنات الشبكة الذكية الرائدة عالميًا.

فيما يلي محاور الحوكمة الرئيسية التي تضمن التشغيل السلس والسريع والفعال للشبكة الذكية لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي:

  • الممكنات التأسيسية
  • التشغيل الآلي للشبكة الذكية
  • حلول الطاقة الذكية والتنقل الأخضر
  • شبكة المياه الذكية
  • الذكاء الاصطناعي
  • خدمات مبتكرة ذات قيمة مضافة


للمزيد من المعلومات عن الشبكة الذكية لهيئة كهرباء و مياه دبي، و للاطلاع على تقرير الشبكة الذكية لهيئة كهرباء و مياه دبي 2021 يرجى الضغط هنا.