Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (DEWA) | MD&CEO Message

  • Home
  • MD&CEO Message

MD&CEO Message

Over the past few decades, Dubai has made significant progress to become a global hub for trade, tourism, and a green economy, as well as one of the world’s most inspiring, successful, and attractive cities for investments in various markets. This is due to the vision and directives of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai; and the follow-up of His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of the Executive Council of Dubai. At DEWA, we work in line with the UAE Centennial 2071, the Eight Principles of Dubai, the 50-Year Charter, the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050, and other government strategies that aim to ensure the happiness of citizens, residents, and visitors.

To meet the increasing demand for electricity and water in Dubai, DEWA continues to develop pioneering infrastructure projects to provide excellent services for over a million customers in Dubai according to the highest standards of availability, reliability, safety and efficiency. This is supported by assets worth AED 190 billion owned by DEWA and its subsidiaries. DEWA’s installed capacity has reached 13,200MW of electricity and 490 million imperial gallons of desalinated water per day (MIGD).

In line with its vision to become a globally leading sustainable innovative corporation, DEWA supports Dubai’s progress in leading the future by reworking the traditional concepts of work mechanisms to suit the rapid global changes and strengthen Dubai’s position as an incubator for creativity and a beacon of innovation. The secret of DEWA’s success lies in applying the principles and practices of excellence across all its operations and activities as well as in strategic planning, in addition to including them within its corporate culture. DEWA has established best practices of its own to become a global role model for its key performance indicators. DEWA’s dedicated workforce has made unprecedented achievements locally and globally. For example, the UAE, represented by DEWA, has maintained its first global ranking for the third year in a row, with scores of 100% in all Getting Electricity indicators in the World Bank’s Doing Business 2020 report. DEWA has reduced its customer minutes lost to 1.66 minutes, compared with 15 minutes recorded by leading utilities in the European Union and the USA. DEWA has further reduced its power transmission and distribution network losses to 3.3%, compared to 6-7% in Europe and the USA. DEWA’s water network losses have decreased to 5.1%, compared to 15% in North America, making it one of the lowest in the world. DEWA improved the sustainability of its water and power infrastructure to increase fuel consumption efficiency up to 90%, and generation efficiency by 33.41% between 2006 and 2020. DEWA won the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) Global Award in 2020. It is the first and only organisation outside Europe to have done so, and on its first application as well. From 2015 until the first half of 2021, DEWA received 348 awards local, regional, and international awards.

While we feel proud of DEWA’s achievements, we will continue developing unique experiences that enhance the happiness of all stakeholders and contribute to making Dubai the happiest and smartest city in the world. We will work to innovate proactive solutions for the challenges over the next 50 years to achieve the vision of the wise leadership to make the UAE the world’s leading nation by its Centennial in 2071.

HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer

MD & CEO of DEWA.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ديوا) رسالة العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي

رسالة العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي

على مدى عقود قليلة، نجحت دبي في تحقيق نقلة نوعية لتصبح مركزاً عالمياً للمال والأعمال والسياحة والاقتصاد الأخضر، وإحدى أبرز مدن العالم وأكثرها إلهاماً ونجاحاً وجذباً للاستثمارات في مختلف المجالات، بفضل الرؤية الثاقبة والتوجيهات السديدة لسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، والمتابعة الفاعلة لسمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي رئيس المجلس التنفيذي. وفي هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، نعمل في إطار "مئوية الإمارات 2071"،  و"المبادئ الثمانية للحكم والحكومة في دبي"، و"وثيقة الخمسين"، واستراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050، وغير ذلك من الاستراتيجيات الحكومية التي تهدف إلى تحقيق سعادة المواطنين والمقيمين والزائرين.

ولتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الطاقة والمياه في دبي، تواصل الهيئة تطوير مشروعات رائدة للبنية التحتية لتوفير خدمات متميزة لأكثر من مليون متعامل في الإمارة وفق أعلى معايير التوافرية والاعتمادية والكفاءة والسلامة، مدعومة بأصول تبلغ قيمتها 190 مليار درهم تمتلكها الهيئة والشركات التابعة لها. وتبلغ القدرة الإنتاجية الإجمالية للهيئة من الكهرباء 13,200 ميجاوات، و490 مليون جالون من المياه المحلاة يومياً.

وفي إطار رؤيتها كمؤسسة رائدة عالمياً مستدامة ومبتكرة، تسهم هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي في الانتقال بدبي نحو ريادة المستقبل عبر إعادة صياغة المفاهيم التقليدية لآليات العمل لتتناسب مع التغيرات المتسارعة التي يشهدها العالم، وتعزيز مكانة دبي كحاضنة للإبداع ومنارة للابتكار. ويكمن سر نجاح الهيئة في تطبيق مبادئ وممارسات التميز في جميع عملياتها وأنشطتها وعمليات التخطيط الاستراتيجي، إضافة إلى تضمينها في ثقافة الهيئة المؤسسية. وقد أصبحت الهيئة نموذجاً يحتذى على مستوى العالم في أفضل الممارسات ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية. وحققت فرق العمل في الهيئة إنجازات غير مسبوقة على المستويين المحلي والعالمي، ومنها على سبيل المثال احتفاظ دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ممثلة بهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، للعام الثالث على التوالي، بالمرتبة الأولى عالمياً في الحصول على الكهرباء، وبكافة مؤشرات المحور وبعلامة كاملة 100%، بحسب تقـــرير البنك الدولي لممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2020. وسجلت الهيئة متوسط 1.66 دقيقة انقطاع لكل مشترك في العام، مقارنة مع 15 دقيقة لدى أكبر شركات الكهرباء في دول الاتحاد الأوروبي وأمريكا، وسجلت نسبة 3.3% في نسبة الفاقد في شبكات نقل وتوزيع الكهرباء مقارنة مع 6-7% في أوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. وقد انخفضت نسبة الفاقد في شبكات المياه إلى 5.1% مقارنة مع 15% في أمريكا الشمالية، وهي من أدنى النسب على مستوى العالم. كما عملت الهيئة على تحسين البنية التحتية للطاقة والمياه بشكل مستدام، لترتفع كفاءة استهلاك الوقود إلى نحو 90%، وتحسنت كفاءة الإنتاج بنسبة 33.41% بين عامي 2006 و2020. وفي عام 2020، حصدت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الجائزة العالمية من المؤسسة الأوروبية لإدارة الجودة، لتصبح أول مؤسسة خارج أوروبا تحصل على هذه الجائزة العالمية المرموقة، وأول مؤسسة في تاريخ الجائزة تحصل عليها من المرة الأولى للترشح. ومنذ 2015 وحتى النصف الأول من 2021، حصدت الهيئة 348 جائزةمحلية وإقليمية وعالمية.

وإذ نفخر بالإنجازات التي حققتها الهيئة، سنواصل العمل على ابتكار تجارب فريدة تعزز من سعادة جميع المعنيين وتسهم في أن تكون دبي المدينة الأذكى والأكثر سعادة في العالم، وسنعمل على ابتكار حلول استباقية لتحديات الخمسين عاماً المقبلة تحقيقاً لرؤية القيادة الرشيدة بأن تكون دولة الإمارات أفضل دولة في العالم بحلول مئويتها في العام 2071.

معالي سعيد محمد الطاير

العضو المنتدب الرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي