Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (DEWA) | Corporate Governance & Strategy

  • Home
  • Corporate Governance & Strategy

Corporate Governance & Strategy

Corporate Governance

DEWA Board of Directors defines the strategic business guidelines and directions of the Company and its composition reflects a broad diversity of complementary experience, allowing its members to protect and promote the interests of all shareholders. Due to its diversity and the complementarity of its experiences, DEWA’s Board of Directors takes into account the interests of all its stakeholders, to meet the challenges that are revolutionizing the energy world. 

In line with the decree No. 55 of 2021 issued by HH Sheikh Mohamad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, two additional Board members have been added to DEWA’s Board. The newly established Board is now composed of 11 members; whereas, 90% of the Board of Directors are independent board members. 

The Board of Directors established DEWA’s good governance by creating a robust business environment aligned with the UAE laws and international best-practices. DEWA’s resilient internal control environment orchestrates the expected ethical and sustainable business practices to ensure the delivery of desired outcomes in line with DEWA’s patented Agile-Governance Framework approved by the Board of Directors. DEWA’s good governance covers essential components such as board charter, organizational chart and span of control, organizational strategies, and a delegation of financial and administrative authorities. 

As such, and in keeping with international guidelines, DEWA adopts the three lines model as per the Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA): 

  • 1st Line: DEWA business and support divisions.
  • 2nd Line: Governance, Risk Management, and Compliance.
  • 3rd Line: Internal Audit as an independent assurance provider. 

In addition, DEWA’s Board of Directors has also adopted a full suite of board level committees consisting of ESG, Nomination and Remuneration Committee, Audit Committee and Budget Committee that aim to ensure and promote independence across DEWA’s operations and reporting. 

Good Governance Awards & Recognition There have been numerous awards and certificates conferred on DEWA for its governance excellence. DEWA won the two most important awards at the Global Good Governance Awards 2020 organized annually by Cambridge IFA in the UK. The Company constantly benchmarks its operations with International Standards. As such, and since the year 2017, DEWA has been certified under the British Standard BS 13500 Effective Governance for five consecutive years.

Moreover, and as a result of good governance practice, DEWA has received the Global Award from the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) for the second time. DEWA continues to maintain its position in the Platinum category, which includes leading companies and institutions that promote excellence. This new accolade crowns DEWA’s pioneering efforts and its record of accomplishment in excellence. DEWA is the first organisation outside Europe to receive this prestigious global award, which is the highest award from the EFQM Excellence Model. For any attachments submitted by the user, please refer the Work Detail Area.



Ethics & Compliance

Dubai Electricity and Water Authority (DEWA) Commitments to Ethics & Compliance

DEWA adopts a zero-tolerance approach towards any occurrence of fraud, bribery or corruption across DEWA’s business activities and operations. DEWA recognizes that the prevention of fraud, bribery and corruption is an integral component of good governance and affirms its commitment to conduct its business and operations in an honest, transparent and ethical manner and as per the applicable UAE federal laws and the Emirate of Dubai legislations.

DEWA has adopted a robust Ethics and Compliance management system supported by a comprehensive set of policies and procedures related to Code of Conduct, Anti-Bribery & Corruption and Fraud, Anti-Money Laundering, and Whistleblowing policy.

A. Code of Business Ethics:

DEWA adopts a comprehensive Code of Business Ethics across its employees and suppliers to endorse its ethical commitments towards its activities and professional practices.

Click here for more details about Code of Business Ethics.

B. Anti-Bribery, Corruption & Fraud Policy:

DEWA will ensure transparency and integrity in all its business dealings and relationships wherever it operates and will implement and enforce effective systems and procedures to ensure prevention, detection and action against fraud, bribery and corruption.

Click here for more details about Anti-Bribery, Corruption & Fraud Policy.

C. Whistleblowing policy:

We are committed to the highest levels of ethics and integrity in the way we work. Therefore, DEWA has a dedicated Whistleblowing Hotline through which potential acts of illegal, unethical, or improper conduct can be reported confidentially by all our stakeholders (employees, clients, suppliers, vendors, and other external parties).

Below are the available reporting channels at DEWA:

Click here for more details about Whistleblower policy.

D. Anti-Money Laundering policy:

Our commitment towards preventing money laundering and terrorism financing by any of our entities is on top of DEWA’s priorities; hence, DEWA has set rigorous procedures in place to counteract it.

Click here for more details about Anti-Money Laundering Policy.

Strategic Direction

Our Purpose

Providing globally leading sustainable, efficient, and reliable power and water services, and related innovative smart solutions.



Our Vision

A globally leading sustainable innovative corporation.



Our Mission

We are committed and aligned to Dubai’s 8 Principles and 50-Year Charter supporting the UAE’s directions through the delivery of global leading services and innovative energy solutions enriching lives and ensuring the happiness of our stakeholders in a sustainable manner.



Our Motto

For Generations to come.



Our Values

• Stakeholders Happiness

• Sustainability 

• Innovation 

• Excellence 

• Good Governance 



Our Stakeholders



GOVERNMENT


Federal and local.

CUSTOMERS

Residential, commercial and  industrial.

DEWA People

Top management, middle management. non-supervisory and others.

PARTNERS

Strategic and main partners.

SUPPLIERS & SUB-CONTRACTORS

Strategic, core and basic.

PROVIDERS OF CAPITAL & INVESTORS

Institutional investors both local and foreign/banks, financial services and Independent power producers.


SOCIETY AND FUTURE GENERATION

Environmental organisations, general public and media.

DEWACorporate Strategy Map

The strategy map provides a clear visual indicator of how the themes and the four perspectives of the third generation Balanced Scorecard interrelate to each other and form the overall strategy of the organisation.

The map is a visual interpretation of an organisation’s strategy.

It shows a logical, step-by-step connection between Themes, Perspectives and Strategic Objectives. It shows a cause-and-effect relationship from the bottom row (Support, Learning and Growth Perspective) to the top row (Triple Bottom Line Perspective) via Internal Processes and Stakeholders Perspectives.

Strategy Map

Strategic Planning & Execution Framework

Strategic Planning & Execution Framework

A. Strategic Intelligence Framework

Systematic continuous past-forward, today-onward and future-back analyses, leveraging an established insights ecosystem, to feed strategic intelligence into DEWA’s organization.

B. Strategy Framework

Three-phase strategy cycle – formulation, alignment, execution and assessment –leveraging the right inputs from strategic intelligence.

DEWA’s Strategy Framework consists of 3 consecutive phases, enriched by strategic intelligence and powered by continuous learning, communication & innovation

Strategy Formulation:

Define overall strategic direction and design the corporate strategy, leveraging strategic insights and foresight.

Organization Alignment:

Align divisions and strategic plans with DEWA’s overall strategy, and plan strategic initiatives for its achievement.

Execution & Assessment:

Implement corporate and divisional strategies, and assess implementation progress, including both performance (KPIs) and strategic initiatives.


Strategy Management System

The strategy management process for Dubai Electricity and Water Authority in terms of formulation, execution, explanation, communication, assessment and update of its strategic plan is implemented on an annual basis using the third generation of the Balanced Scorecard that includes themes on the strategy map along with the concept of having Theme Champions.

It’s broken down into strategic objectives, corporate KPIs and initiatives which split across the four perspectives.


The four perspectives are: 

  • Triple-Bottom-Line Perspective: This is a modified perspective in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which incorporates sustainability into business decisions through accounting for the three dimensions: financial, social and environmental and thus, allowing to manage performance in a broader business context.
  • Stakeholder Perspective: Is a modified perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which expands the focus of DEWA’s value creation to all stakeholder categories.
  • Internal Processes Perspective: Is one of the four perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which focuses on the strategic priorities for various business processes leading to the satisfaction of both customers and shareholders.
  • To learning and growth: Is one of the four perspectives in the Balanced Scorecard and strategy map, which focuses on the priorities to create an environment that supports organisational change, innovation, and growth to achieve excellence in our operations, and to create the necessary potential and improvements that should be available in DEWA.

The Balanced Scorecard shows a cause-and-effect relationship between the four perspectives. The Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are based on the need to provide leading and lagging indicators of an organisation’s performance.

DEWA uses the third generation Balanced Scorecard to manage and measure the performance of its strategic direction, broken down into the themes, strategic objectives and corporate KPIs.



 Key Performance Indicators

Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) are significant measurements used to track and manage performance against strategic objectives. A KPI measures progress in the performance of an objective critical to the organisation’s strategic direction.


Corporate-level KPIs are determined under each Strategic Objective on DEWA’s Strategy Map to assess the overall progress in executing the corporate strategy. Selected KPIs should be understood, acceptable, have a well-defined formula and, above all, measurable.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ديوا) | الحوكمة المؤسسية والاستراتيجية

الحوكمة المؤسسية والاستراتيجية

حوكمة الشركات

يحدد مجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي المبادئ التوجيهية للأعمال الاستراتيجية وتوجهات الشركة من خلال التنوع في الخبرات لدى مجلس إدارة الشركة ، مما يسمح لأعضائها بحماية وتعزيز مصالح جميع المساهمين. نظرًا لتنوعه وتكامل خبراته ، يراعي مجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي مصالح جميع أصحاب المعنيين والمساهمين لمواجهة التحديات في عالم الطاقة.

تماشياً مع المرسوم رقم 55 لعام 2021 الصادر عن صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم ، تمت إضافة عضوين إضافيين لمجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي. بذلك، يتألف مجلس الإدارة الذي تم تحديثه من 11 عضوًا ؛ في حين أن 90٪ من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة هم أعضاء مستقلون في مجلس الإدارة.

أسس مجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الحوكمة الرشيدة من خلال خلق بيئة أعمال قوية تتماشى مع قوانين دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وأفضل الممارسات الدولية. تعمل بيئة الرقابة الداخلية المرنة في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على تنسيق ممارسات الأعمال الأخلاقية والمستدامة المتوقعة لضمان تحقيق النتائج المرجوة بما يتماشى مع إطار الحوكمة الرشيدة الحاصل على براءة اختراع من قبل وزارة الاقتصاد في الامارات العربية المتحدة والمعتمد من قبل مجلس إدارة الشركة. تغطي الحوكمة الرشيدة لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي مكونات أساسية مثل ميثاق مجلس الإدارة ، والهيكل التنظيمي ، ونطاق الرقابة ، والاستراتيجيات التنظيمية ، وتفويض السلطات المالية والإدارية.

على هذا النحو ، وتماشياً مع الإرشادات الدولية ، تعتمد هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي نموذج ثلاثة خطوط وفقًا لمعهد المدققين الداخليين (IIA):

  • الخط الأول: أقسام الأعمال والدعم في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي.
  • الخط الثاني: الحوكمة وإدارة المخاطر والامتثال.
  • الخط الثالث: التدقيق الداخلي كمقدم ضمان مستقل.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، اعتمد مجلس إدارة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي أيضًا مجموعة من اللجان على مستوى مجلس الإدارة تتكون من كل من لجنة الموازنة ، لجنة التدقيق و لجنة الإدارة البيئية والإجتماعية والحوكمة المؤسسية والترشيحات والمكافآت التي تهدف إلى ضمان وتعزيز الاستقلالية في جميع عمليات الهيئة.

الجوائز والشهادات في الحوكمة الرشيدة:

حصلت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على العديد من الجوائز والشهادات لتميزها في الحوكمة الرشيدة. فازت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي بأهم جائزتين في عام 2022 في جوائز الحوكمة العالمية التي ينظمها معهد كامبريدج IFA سنويًا في المملكة المتحدة. كما تقيس الشركة عملياتها باستمرار وفقًا للمعايير الدولية. على هذا النحو ، ومنذ عام 2017 حتى تاريخه، تم منح هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي شهادة  BS 13500 للحوكمة الرشيدة.

علاوة على ذلك ، ونتيجة لممارسات الحوكمة الرشيدة ، حصلت هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على الجائزة العالمية من المؤسسة الأوروبية لإدارة الجودة (EFQM) للمرة الثانية. كما تستمر هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي في الحفاظ على مكانتها في الفئة البلاتينية ، والتي تشمل الشركات والمؤسسات الرائدة التي تعزز التميز. ويأتي هذا التكريم الجديد تتويجاً لجهود الهيئة الريادية وسجلها الحافل في التميز. كما أن هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي هي أول مؤسسة خارج أوروبا تحصل على هذه الجائزة العالمية المرموقة ، وهي أعلى جائزة من نموذج التميز EFQM. "



الأخلاقيات والامتثال

التزامات هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي بالأخلاقيات والامتثال

تتبنى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي نهجاً صارماً قائماً على عدم التسامح إزاء أي احتيال أو رشوة أو فساد خلال ممارسة أنشطة وعمليات الهيئة، وتدرك الهيئة أن منع الاحتيال والرشوة والفساد هو جزء لا يتجزأ من الحوكمة الرشيدة؛ وتؤكد التزامها بممارسة أعمالها وعملياتها بطريقة صادقة وشفافة وأخلاقية؛ وفقًا للقوانين الاتحادية المعمول بها في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وإمارة دبي.

تتبنى الهيئة نظاماً قوياً لإدارة الأخلاقيات والامتثال مدعوماً بمجموعة شاملة من السياسات والإجراءات المتعلقة بقواعد السلوك ومكافحة الرشوة والفساد ومكافحة غسيل الأموال وسياسة الإبلاغ عن المخالفات.

أ. ميثاق أخلاقيات العمل:

 تتبنى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي مجموعة شاملة من قواعد أخلاقيات العمل المتعلقة بموظفيها ومورديها لدعم التزاماتها الأخلاقية خلال أنشطتها وممارساتها المهنية.

انقر هنا للمزيد من التفاصيل عن ميثاق أخلاقيات العمل في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي.

ب. سياسة مكافحة الرشوة والفساد والاحتيال:

ستعمل هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي على ضمان الشفافية والنزاهة في جميع تعاملاتها وعلاقاتها التجارية، وستطبق الأنظمة والإجراءات الفعالة لضمان الحيلولة دون حدوث أي حالات رشوة أو احتيال أو فسادـ، والكشف عنها إن وقعت، واتخاذ كل ما يلزم لمكافحتها.

انقر هنا للحصول على مزيد من التفاصيل عن سياسة مكافحة الرشوة والفساد والاحتيال.

ج. سياسة الإبلاغ عن المخالفات:

نحن ملتزمون بأعلى مستويات الأخلاق والنزاهة في طريقة عملنا، لذا لدى هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي خط ساخن مخصص للإبلاغ عن المخالفات؛ وعن طريقه يمكن للمتعامل الإبلاغ عن الأعمال المحتملة غير القانونية أو غير الأخلاقية أو غير اللائقة التي قد تصدر عن أي من المعنيين (الموظفون والمتعاملون والموردون والأطراف الخارجية الأخرى).

فيما يلي قنوات الإبلاغ المتاحة في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي:

  • الخط الساخن لأخلاقيات هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي 24/7 (+971-4-322-2202)

  • البريد الإلكتروني الخاص بأخلاقيات هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ethicshotline@dewa.gov.ae)

انقر هنا للمزيد من التفاصيل عن سياسة المبلغين عن المخالفات.

د. سياسة مكافحة غسيل الأموال:

إن التزامنا بمنع جرائم غسيل الأموال وتمويل الإرهاب من قبل أي من الشركات التابعة لنا يأتي على رأس أولويات الهيئة؛ إذ وضعت الهيئة إجراءات صارمة لمواجهتها.

انقر هنا للمزيد من التفاصيل عن سياسة مكافحة غسيل الأموال.


التوجه الاستراتيجي

غايتنا

توفير خدمات رائدة عالمياً من الكهرباء والمياه وفق أعلى مستويات الاعتمادية والاستدامة والكفاءة، إضافة إلى تطوير أفضل الحلول الذكية والمبتكرة.



رؤيتنا

مؤسسة رائدة عالمياً مستدامة ومبتكرة.



رسالتنا

نلتزم بتوفير خدمات عالمية رائدة وحلول مبتكرة في مجال الطاقة انسجاماً مع المبادئ الثمانية لدبي ووثيقة الخمسين والأهداف الاستراتيجية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، بما يثري حياة الناس ويضمن سعادة المعنيين على نحو مستدام.



شعارنا

لأجيالنا القادمة.



قيمنا

•  إسعاد المعنيين

•  الاستدامة

•  الابتكار

•  التميز

•  الحوكمة الرشيدة



فئات المعنيين



الحكومة

اتحادياً ومحلياً.

المتعاملون

سكني، تجاري وصناعي.


موظفو الهيئة

الإدارة العليا، الإدارة المتوسطة، الجهات غير الإشرافية، آخرون .

الشركاء 

الشركاء الاستراتيجيون،والشركاء الرئيسيون.


الموردون/ المقاولون

الاستراتيجيون/ الأساسيون.

المستثمرون

المؤسسات الاسثمارية المحلية والأجنبية/ المصارف/ الخدمات المالية، مطورو المنتج المستقل .


المجتمع والأجيال القادمة

المؤسسات البيئية، الجمهور، ووسائل الإعلام.


الخارطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة 

تعتمد الهيئة الجيل الثالث من نظام بطاقات قياس الأداء المتوازن الذي يوفر اّلية منظمة لترجمة وتطبيق الخطة الاستراتيجية من خلال ترجمة مجموعة من الشرائح الاستراتيجية التي تمثل التوجهات الاستراتيجية العليا للهيئة (Strategic Themes).
 تتكون كل شريحة استراتيجية من مجموعة من الأهداف الاستراتيجية موزعة على المناظير الاستراتيجية القياسية (مَنْظور ثلاثي الأبعاد، مَنْظورالمعنيين، مَنْظور العمليات الداخلية، مَنْظور الدعم والتعلم والنمو).

توضح الخارطة الاستراتيجية العلاقة السببية (هرمية البناء) بين الأهداف الاستراتيجية للهيئة وكيفية الربط المنطقي بين هذه الأهداف التي تشكل التسلسل المنطقي لتحقيق أهداف استراتيجية الهيئة. 


Strategy Map

التخطيط الاستراتيجي وإطار التنفيذ

التخطيط الاستراتيجي وإطار التنفيذ

أ‌. إطار عمل المعلومات الاستراتيجية

تحليل نظامي مستمر وفق منهجية النظر للماضي لإعداد استراتيجيات المستقبل، ومنهجية التخطيط للمستقبل وفق احتياجات الحاضر، ومنهجية التخطيط للمستقبل بالرجوع إلى احتياجات الماضي، بما يعزز مصادر تحديد الرؤى، ويوفر المعلومات اللازمة.

ب‌. إطار عمل الاستراتيجية

تعتمد دورة إعداد الاستراتيجية على ثلاث مراحل، وهي الصياغة، والمواءمة، والتنفيذ والتقييم، لتعزيز المدخلات الصحيحة من المعلومات الاستراتيجية

يتكون إطار عمل استراتيجية هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي من ثلاث مراحل  ، قائمة على أسس االمعلومات الاستراتيجية، ومرتكزة على التعليم المستمر والإتصال والإبتكار

صياغة الاستراتيجية:

 تحديد التوجهات الاستراتيجية عموماً، وتصميم الاستراتيجية المؤسسية، بما يعزز  الرؤى الحالية والمستقبلية

المواءمة الداخلية:

مواءمة خطط القطاعات الإستراتيجية مع استراتيجية الهيئة عموماً، وإعداد مبادرات استراتيجية للتنفيذ

التنفيذ والتقييم:

 تطبيق الاستراتيجيات المؤسسية والقطاعية، وتقييم سير عملية التنفيذ، بما في ذلك مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية والمبادرات الاستراتيجية

نظام إدارة الاستراتيجية

تتم عملية إدارة الاستراتيجية لهيئة كهرباء مياه دبي من حيث إعداد وتنفيذ وشرح وإيصال وتقييم وتحديث خطة الهيئة الإستراتيجية على أساس سنوي ومن خلال تطبيق الجيل الثالث من بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والذي يتضمن الشرائح على الخارطة الاستراتيجية وكذلك مفهوم "مسؤولي الشرائح".

 ويتم تقسيم بطاقة الأداء المتوازن إلى أهداف استراتيجية، ومؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية، والمبادرات التي تنقسم بدورها الى أربعة مناظير.

وهذه المناظير الأربعة هي:

  • المنظور ثلاثي الأبعاد: أحد المناظير المعدلة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يسمح بدمج الاستدامة ضمن عمليات وقرارات الهيئة عبر ثلاثة أبعاد: المالي والاجتماعي والبيئي ومن ثم السماح بإدارة الأداء في سياق أوسع للأعمال.
  • منظور المعنيين: أحد المناظير المعدلة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والتي تركز على خلق قيمة وتمايز من وجهة نظر المتعامل.
  • منظور العمليات الداخلية: أحد المناظير الأربعة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يركز على الأولويات الاستراتيجية لمختلف عمليات الأعمال، والذي يؤدي إلى رضا كل من المتعاملين والمساهمين.
  • منظور التعليم والنمو: أحد المناظير الأربعة في بطاقة الأداء المتوازن والخارطة الاستراتيجية، والذي يركز على أولويات لخلق المناخ الذي يدعم التغيير التنظيمي، والابتكار، والنمو للوصول إلى التميز في عملياتنا، وما يجب أن يتوفر في هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي من قدرات وتحسينات لازمة.

تظهر بطاقة الأداء المتوازن علاقة السبب والنتيجة بين المناظير الأربعة. وتعتمد مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على ضرورة توفير المؤشرات المبركة والمتأخرة لأداء المؤسسة.

تستخدم هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي الجيل الثالث من بطاقات الأداء المتوازن لإدارة وقياس أداء توجهها الاستراتيجي، موزعة إلى موضوعات، وأهداف استراتيجية ومؤشرات أداء مؤسسية.


مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية 

مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية هي مقاييس مهمة تستخدم لمتابعة وإدارة الأداء من أجل تنفيذ الأهداف الاستراتيجية. وتعمل مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على قياس مدى التقدم في أداء الأهداف المهمة للتوجه الاستراتيجي للهيئة.


يتم تحديد مؤشرات الأداء الرئيسية على مستوى الهيئة وفق كل هدف استراتيجي في الخارطة الاستراتيجية للهيئة وذلك من أجل تقييم التقدم العام في تنفيذ استراتيجية الهيئة. ويتعين أن تكون مؤشرات الأداء التي يتم اختيارها مفهومة، ومقبولة، وتحظى بتركيبة محددة وواضحة، والأهم من ذلك أن تكون قابلة للقياس.