Dubai Electricity & Water Authority | World Energy Day

  • Home
  • World Energy Day

World Energy Day

World Energy Day– is an initiative endorsed by HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, along with representatives of 54 countries, in addition to the United Nations, Arab League and African Union Commission, who consented to make it a yearly celebration through the "Dubai Declaration - Energy for All" on 22 October 2012.

World Energy Day aims to raise awareness on the importance of saving our natural resources, for sustainability, conservation, climate change, carbon emission reduction, and environmental protection. All these contribute to increasing energy efficiency and sustainability.

What does the logo of the World Energy Day refer to?

The logo includes 6 main factors to ensure energy access for all. These are Oil Resources; Saving Fossil Fuel for Future Generations, Electricity; Energy Conservation, Environment; Green Economy for Sustainable Development, Water Resources; Rational Consumption for Water Resources, Carbon Footprint; A Green Step for a Sustainable Tomorrow, and Solar Energy; Increasing the Use of Renewable Energy.

What are the objectives of the World Energy Day?

Ensuring the affordability of a safe and sustainable energy for everyone. By identifying the need for developing national policies to reflect a shared global energy perspective. The objectives also include strengthening policies relevant to implementing and developing mechanisms and frameworks to exchange experience between different countries around the world. This includes promoting the development of human resources to pursue the common good of all everyone, by continuing the rational use of fossil fuels in the global economy while accelerating the process of the transformation to safer, and appropriate renewable energy sources.

Your Action Counts. Act Now.

This year’s theme ‘Your efforts Count. Act Now’, aims to raise awareness on positive and sustainable practices; which contribute to reducing the use of electricity and water consumption and pledging to continue this reduced use. It is our commitment to change that brings about a positive effect on building a sustainable society, and a green future – for generations to come.

Make every day, World Energy Day – let’s unite our efforts to protect the planet. Together we can make a positive impact.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ديوا) | يوم الطاقة العالمي

يوم الطاقة العالمي

اعتمد صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، رعاه الله، مبادرة "اليوم العالمي للطاقة" التي تبناها ممثلو 54 دولة، إضافة الى الأمم المتحدة، وجامعة الدول العربية، ومفوضية الاتحاد الإفريقي، خلال انعقاد منتدى الطاقة العالمي 2012 في دبي، وصدر في ختامه إعلان دبي تحت عنوان "الطاقة للجميع"، حيث تم الاتفاق على تخصيص يوم 22 أكتوبر من كل عام للاحتفال بمناسبة "اليوم العالمي للطاقة".

يهدف "اليوم العالمي للطاقة" إلى رفع مستوى الوعي حول أهمية الحفاظ على مواردنا الطبيعية، من خلال تسليط الضوء على الاستدامة وترشيد الطاقة والتغير المناخي وتخفيض الانبعاثات الكربونية وحماية البيئة مما يسهم في رفع كفاءة الطاقة والاستدامة.

إلى ماذا يشير شعار "اليوم العالمي للطاقة"؟

يشتمل شعار "اليوم العالمي للطاقة" على عناصر متعددة تعكس هدف الطاقة للجميع. وتتضمن هذه العناصر المصادر النفطية، والمحافظة على الوقود الإحفوري للأجيال القادمة، والكهرباء وترشيد الطاقة، والبيئة، واقتصاد أخضر لتنمية مستدامة، والمصادر المائية، والاستهلاك الرشيد للمصادر البيئية، والبصمة الكربونية، وخطوة خضراء لغدٍ مستدام، والطاقة الشمسية، واستخدام الطاقة المتجددة.

ما هي أهداف "اليوم العالمي للطاقة"؟

يهدف "اليوم العالمي للطاقة" إلى ضمان توفير طاقة آمنة ومستدامة للجميع، وتحديد الحاجة إلى تطوير سياسات وطنية تعكس المنظور العالمي للطاقة.

كما يهدف إلى تقوية السياسات المتعلقة بتطبيق وتطوير آليات وأطر عمل لتبادل الخبرات بين مختلف البلدان حول العالم. ومن شأن الترويج لتطوير الموارد البشرية تحقيق المنفعة المشتركة للبشرية جمعاء ومواصلة الاستخدام الرشيد للوقود الإحفوري في الاقتصاد العالمي وتسريع عملية التحول إلى مصادر طاقة أكثر أمانا،ً وإدراك أهمية مصادر الطاقة المتجددة.

"بجهودكم نصنع الفرق .. لنبدأ الآن"

يهدف شعار هذا العام "بجهودكم نصنع الفرق .. لنبدأ الآن" إلى زيادة الوعي بالممارسات المستدامة؛ مما يسهم في الحد من استخدام الكهرباء والمياه والتعهد بترشيد الاستهلاك. إن الالتزام بالتغيير هو ما يسهم في بناء مجتمع مستدام ومستقبل ومشرق للأجيال القادمة.

لنجعل كل يوم، اليوم الطاقة العالمي. لنوحد جهودنا لحماية كوكب الأرض. معاً بإمكاننا أن نصنع الفرق!