MD & CEO Message

Over the past few decades, Dubai made significant progress to become a global hub for business, tourism, and green economy, as well as one of the world's most inspiring, successful, and attractive cities for investment in various markets. This is due to the vision of His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, and the directives of His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai and Chairman of the Executive Council of Dubai. It has contributed to creating a happy life for all citizens, residents, visitors, and anyone who lives on our beloved land.

We work tirelessly to improve performance, productivity and quality of services provided to customers. Dubai Electricity and Water Authority’s DEWA 2021 strategy is aligned to the UAE Centennial 2071, the UAE Vision 2021, and the Dubai Plan 2021 to secure a happy future and a better life for future generations, raise the country's status as the best country in the world, and always rank first in all areas.

We have made many local and international achievements, in line with the vision of our wise leadership. The UAE, represented by DEWA, ranked first in the world in getting electricity, as per the World Bank’s Doing Business 2018 report. The extensive report uses multiple criteria to measure the ease of doing business in 190 countries around the world. DEWA also won the Global Excellence Award from the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM), as the first organisation outside Europe and the first to win as a first-time applicant of this prestigious award. Through this pioneering achievement, DEWA is now in the platinum category, which is the highest international rank in the Global Excellence Index.

DEWA’s global achievements confirm the success of its effective and sustainable practices in improving energy efficiency on both supply and demand. DEWA succeeded in reducing electricity line losses from 7% to 3.3% and Unaccounted for Water from 42% to 7.1% and these are global benchmarks. Customer Minutes Lost reached 2.68 per year compared with 15 minutes for leading utilities in Europe and the USA. The fuel efficiency of DEWA’s latest power plants increased to about 90%. Our generation efficiency increased by 28.86% from 2006 to 2017. DEWA’s necessary investments total AED 81 billion over the next five years, to meet growing demand for electricity and water in the Emirate. This will provide significant investment opportunities, contribute to the growth of the green economy, and create a competitive advantage in the UAE for clean energy and energy efficiency.

We are securing our supply by diversifying the energy mix, to include clean energy to provide 7% of Dubai’s total power output from clean energy by 2020, 25% by 2030 and 75% by 2050. To achieve that, we launched many green programmes and initiatives including the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park which is the largest single site solar park in the world with a total capacity of 5,000MW by 2030. We have a clear Demand Side Management Strategy to reduce power and water consumption by 30% by 2030, and the Carbon Abatement Strategy to reduce carbon emissions by 16% by 2021.

The Shams Dubai initiative, which encourages customers to install photovoltaic panels on their rooftops, to generate electricity from solar power, is achieving great success. This coincides with the Green Charger initiative to establish infrastructure, electric vehicle charging stations, and the Smart Applications through Smart Meters and Grids initiative. This last initiative is designed to speed up service delivery and response, to ensure reconnection in case of any unplanned interruptions, while rationalising smart energy consumption by monitoring consumption details simultaneously and at any time, using smart meters. This works to achieve society’s happiness, and to support the sustainability of resources.

We are committed to keeping pace with the Fourth Industrial Revolution, and being familiar with global technological developments, provided by disruptive technologies, in the main sectors of DEWA’s work. This supports DEWA’s vision to become a sustainable innovative world-class utility. DEWA launched the Future Centre for Customer Happiness, which uses smart and digital platforms, with Artificial Intelligence (AI) and robots for customer service. DEWA is also the first government organisation to launch Rammas, a virtual employee, making use of artificial intelligence technology to answer customer enquiries. Rammas responds to enquiries in both English and Arabic through a 24-hour chatbot. Rammas is available 7 days a week via DEWA’s website, on DEWA’s Facebook, through iOS and Android platforms, Amazon’s Alexa service, Robots, and GoogleAI. We have recruited robots as staff at DEWA and inaugurated the Blockchain initiative for Green Charger, which provides customers with several benefits. DEWA also launched a leasing initiative, in cooperation with public and private organisations. It allows the participating agencies to automate the lease renewal process, obtain a lease contract, and connect electricity and water services.

DEWA has adopted several smart technologies, notably the smart helmet and smart glasses (DAQRI), which uses virtual reality to help engineers working in power stations, as well as 3D-printing to make spare parts, and the improvement of the performance of maintenance and operations, the Big Data initiative, the smart monitoring of electrical appliances and energy consumption at home, and Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs). The adoption rate for DEWA’s smart services reached 90%, ahead of the deadline set by HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, to reduce the number of visitors to government offices by 80% by 2018.

These initiatives intend to make Dubai the smartest city in the world. We have been successful in encouraging sustainable development, socially, environmentally and economically, of Dubai in particular and the UAE in general.

Thank you for taking interest in DEWA’s website and for being part of Dubai’s commitment to sustainability and energy conservation.

HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer.

MD & CEO of DEWA.


Our country is blessed and so are we, living in this good land

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Mohammed bin Rashid Smart Majlis

Visit Website

رسالة العضو المنتدب والرئيس التنفيذي

على مدى عقود قليلة، نجحت دبي في تحقيق نقلة نوعية لتصبح مركزاً عالمياً للمال والأعمال والسياحة والاقتصاد الأخضر، وإحدى أبرز مدن العالم وأكثرها إلهاماً ونجاحاً وجذباً للاستثمارات في مختلف المجالات، بفضل الرؤية الثاقبة لسيدي صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي رعاه الله، وتوجيهات سمو الشيخ حمدان بن محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، ولي عهد دبي رئيس المجلس التنفيذي، مما ساهم في توفير حياة سعيدة لجميع المواطنين والمقيمين والزائرين وكل من يعيش على أرضنا الطيبة .

نعمل جاهدين على الارتقاء بمستوى الأداء والإنتاجية وجودة الخدمات المقدمة للمتعاملين، حيث تتوائم "خطة هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي 2021" مع مئوية الامارات 2071 ورؤية الامارات 2021 وخطة دبي 2021  بهدف تأمين مستقبل سعيد ومستدام والوصول بالدولة للمركز الأول في كافة المجالات.

وترجمة لرؤية القيادة الرشيدة، حققنا إنجازات محلية وعالمية، حيث حصدت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ممثلة بهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي، المرتبة الأولى عالمياً في الحصول على الكهرباء بحسب نتائج تقرير ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال 2018 الصادر عن البنك الدولي، والذي يقيس سهولة ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال في 190 دولة حول العالم. كما فزنا بالجائزة العالمية للتميز من المؤسسة الأوروبية لإدارة الجودة (EFQM) كأول مؤسسة خارج أوروبا تحصل على هذه الجائزة المرموقة، وأول مؤسسة تحصل عليها من المرة الاولى للمشاركة، لتدخل الهيئة بهذا الانجاز الرائد المؤشر العالمي للتميز في الفئة البلاتينية، وهي أعلى تصنيف للتميز عالمياً في هذا المؤشر.

وتؤكد النتائج العالمية التي حققتها الهيئة نجاح ممارساتها الفعالة والمستدامة في تحسين كفاءة الطاقة في جانبي الإمداد والطلب، حيث انخفضت نسبة الفاقد في شبكات نقل وتوزيع الكهرباء من 7% إلى 3.3 % والفاقد في شبكات نقل وتوزيع شبكات المياه من 42% إلى 7.1%، وهي من أقل النسب المسجلة على مستوى العالم. وبلغ معدل انقطاع الكهرباء لكل مشترك سنوياً 2.68 دقيقة مقارنة مع 15 دقيقة لدى نخبة من شركات الكهرباء الأوروبية والأمريكية. كما تم رفع كفاءة استهلاك الوقود في أحدث وحدات الإنتاج إلى نحو 90٪، وارتفعت كفاءة الإنتاج بنسبة 28.86% بين عامي 2006 وحتى 2017. وتبلغ قيمة الاستثمارات اللازمة للهيئة على مدى السنوات الخمس القادمة، لتلبية الطلب المتزايد على الكهرباء والمياه في الإمارة حوالي 81 مليار درهم، وسيوفر ذلك فرصاً استثمارية كبيرة، وسيساهم في دعم نمو الاقتصاد الأخضر وخلق ميزة تنافسية للدولة في مجال تقنيات الطاقة النظيفة وكفاءة الطاقة.

نعمل على تأمين إمداداتنا من خلال تنويع مزيج الطاقة ليشمل 7٪ من إجمالي إنتاج الطاقة في دبي من الطاقة النظيفة بحلول عام 2020 و 25٪ بحلول عام 2030 و 75٪ بحلول عام 2050. ولتحقيق ذلك، أطلقنا العديد من البرامج والمبادرات الخضراء بما في ذلك مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، والذي يعد أكبر مشروع للطاقة الشمسية في موقع واحد في العالم بقدرة إنتاجية إجمالية تصل إلى 5000 ميجاوات بحلول عام 2030. ونسعى لتحقيق استراتيجية ادارة الطلب على الطاقة والمياه لخفض استهلاك الطاقة والمياه بنسبة 30% بحلول 2030، واستراتيجية خفض الانبعاثات الكربونية التي تهدف لخفض هذه الانبعاثات بنحو 16% بحلول 2021.

وتحرز مبادرة مبادرة «شمس دبي» لتشجيع المتعاملين أصحاب المنازل والمباني على تركيب ألواح كهروضوئية فوق أسطح المباني لإنتاج الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية، وربط النظام الشمسي بشبكة الهيئة تقدّماً هاماً، وذلك بالتزامن مع مبادرة الشاحن الأخضر لإنشاء البنية التحتية ومحطات شحن السيارات الكهربائية، ومبادرة التطبيقات الذكية من خلال عدادات وشبكات ذكية، التي تهدف إلى سرعة الاستجابة لإعادة التوصيل الفوري عند الانقطاع مع ترشيد الاستهلاك الذكي عبر العدادات الذكية، ومراقبة تفاصيل الاستهلاك بشكل دقيق ولحظي وفي أي وقت، تعزيزاً لرفاهية وسعادة جميع المواطنين والمقيمين، ودعم استدامة الموارد.

نحرص على مواكبة الثورة الصناعية الرابعة، والإلمام بالتطورات التكنولوجية حول العالم التي توفرها التقنيات الإحلالية في القطاعات الرئيسية لعمل الهيئة، وذلك في إطار رؤية الهيئة بأن تكون مؤسسة مستدامة مبتكرة على مستوى عالمي. وقد أطلقت الهيئة "مركز المستقبل لإسعاد المتعاملين"، الذي يقدم جميع خدمات المتعاملين من خلال المنصات الذكية والرقمية المدعومة بالذكاء الاصطناعي والروبوتات، وكنا أول جهة حكومية تطلق "رماس" أول موظف افتراضي للذكاء الاصطناعي للتواصل مع المتعاملين عن طريق المحادثة الفورية باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية للإجابة على جميع استفساراتهم،  على مدار الساعة وطوال أيام الأسبوع عبر موقع الهيئة الإلكتروني، وتطبيق الهيئة الذكي على منصتي "آي.أو.إٍس" و"آندرويد"، وحساب الهيئة على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي فيسبوك، بالإضافة إلى توفرها على أجهزة "أليكسا" الذكية من أمازون و الروبوتات وعلى منصة جوجل للذكاء الاصطناعي. وقمنا توظيف الروبوتات ضمن كادر الهيئة، وأطلقنا مبادرة التعاملات الرقمية "البلوك شين"لخدمات الشاحن الأخضر، التي توفر العديد من المميزات للمتعاملين، بالإضافة إلى مبادرة الهيئة الخاصة بتأجير المساكن، بالتعاون مع الدوائر الحكومية والخاصة في دبي، والتي تمكن الجهات المشاركة من أتمتة عملية تجديد عقود الإيجار، واستصدار عقد إيجاري، وتفعيل خدمتي الكهرباء والمياه.

وقد تبنت الهيئة العديد من التقنيات الذكية الحديثة من بينها الخوذة والنظارات الذكية المرتكزة على تقنية الواقع المعزز لمساعدة المهندسين العاملين في محطات إنتاج الطاقة  لإنجاز مهامهم،  وتقنية الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد التي تمكن الهيئة من تصنيع  قطع الغيار، وتحسين أداء أعمال الصيانة والعمليات التشغيلية، ومبادرة البيانات الضخمة، وتطبيق الرصد الذكي للطاقة المنزلية، حيث يتيح للمتعاملين الإطلاع على معدل استهلاك الأجهزة الكهربائية في منازلهم، والطائرات من دون طيار. كما نجحنا في الوصول في نسبة تبني خدماتنا الذكية إلى 90%، وذلك قبل الموعد الذي حدده صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، رعاه الله، للجهات الحكومية لتقليل مراجعي المراكز الحكومية بنسبة 80% بحلول 2018.

إننا نسعى ومن خلال هذه المبادرات إلى جعل دبي أذكى مدينة في العالم، وقد حقّقنا حتى الآن نجاحات كبيرة في مجال الاستدامة، الأمر الذي يمهد الطريق للتنمية المستدامة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والبيئية في دبي بشكل خاص ودولة الإمارات بشكل عام.

نشكر تصفّحكم موقع الهيئة والتزامكم بمساعدتنا في تحقيق الاستدامة وترشيد الاستهلاك في إمارة دبي.

سعادة/ سعيد محمد الطاير 

العضو المنتدب الرئيس التنفيذي لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي


دولتنا بخير ونحن مباركون من الله تعالى أن جعلنا من أهل هذه الأرض الطيبة.

مجلس محمد بن راشد الذكي

مجلس محمد بن راشد الذكي

زيارة الموقع