Dubai Electricity & Water Authority (DEWA) | Research & Development (R&D) Centre

Research & Development (R&D) Centre

The DEWA R&D Centre, at the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Solar Park, has become a global platform that provides innovative solutions and technologies to enhance the operations and services of utilities around the world. The Centre’s research areas include solar power, smart grid integration, energy efficiency, and water. It also focuses on space technologies and the Fourth Industrial Revolution applications. Through Space-D, the Centre develops several niche use-cases for grid and water networks. These core areas of the R&D are supported by 3 Enablers: Fourth Industrial Revolution (including AI, IoT, Robotics & Drones, 3D Printing & Advanced Materials), Space technologies and Energy System Analyses. 

The R&D Centre infrastructure includes:
  • Solar indoor testing and accelerated aging lab,
  • Outdoor Test Facility (OTF) for continuous monitoring of solar photovoltaic module performance in actual conditions, a Building-Integrated Photovoltaics (BIPV) testing facility, and Cleaning Test Field for robotic solutions.
  • Lab facilities: Robotics and Drone, Advanced Materials and Characterization, Additive Manufacturing,
  • High Performance Computing Cluster,
  • Energy Storage Testing and Validation Field,
  • Green Hydrogen Pilot,
  • Photovoltaic-driven Reverse Osmosis test system,
  • Internet of Things Lab, and
  • A satellite ground station for DEWA’s space initiative (Space-D) and more.

Vision and Mission

The Centre’s goal is to become a globally leading platform for developing and demonstrating promising solutions for the future energy and water systems. Its mission is to generate value for DEWA through cutting edge applied research to ensure that DEWA and its ecosystem remains at the forefront of providing world-class services cost-effectively.

The Centre adopts international R&D best practices and supports the objectives of the Dubai Clean Energy Strategy 2050. The research and development activities are conducted in-house and in cooperation with international institutions.


Research Areas Activities

Solar Research Area

The Solar Research Area studies ways to improve solar photovoltaic technologies to mitigate the effects of dust and extreme desert conditions on the performance of solar BIPV and photovoltaic panels, while testing their long-term reliability and developing appropriate standards.

Water Research Area

The Water Research Area assesses and develops sustainable solutions for the desalination and purification of water using solar power (Photovoltaic and Reverse Osmosis (PVRO) and Forward Osmosis), detect and reduce water transmission losses, and reduce resource use by minimizing brine effluent.

Smart Grid Integration Research Area

The Smart Grid Integration Research Area evaluates and develops systems to facilitate and optimise the integration of renewables in the grid while maintaining power quality standards. This includes the use of electricity storage systems (chemical, thermal, and mechanical technologies), and the aggregation of distributed energy and storage resources, such as Virtual Power Plants (VPPs) and electric vehicle chargers.

Energy Efficiency Research Area

The Energy Efficiency Research Area aims to foster smart and sustainable development, reduce the waste of energy by improving the efficiency of energy systems (with a focus on cooling), and overall accelerate the clean energy transition. Its research work identifies, develops, and validates innovative solutions that enable smart and efficient energy use, boost renewables, and promote health and happiness.

Space Research Area

The Space Research Area aims to support DEWA with high efficiency, low-cost remote sensing & operations using satellites and ground station capabilities. Its developed solutions are designed specifically to address utility needs including secondary substation feeder monitoring, asset integrity, and forecasting services.  DEWA launched its 3U nanosatellite DEWA-SAT1. DEWA was the world’s first utility to use nanosatellites to enhance the maintenance and planning of electricity and water networks.

Fourth Industrial Revolution

This research area enables the effective development of solutions that support the core areas. Its robotics and drone solutions are used to provide inspection and maintenance services using unmanned/autonomous operations across the whole utility value chain (e.g. photovoltaic plants, transmission line inspection and maintenance). The Artificial Intelligence (AI) team develops, tests, and integrates AI technologies for optimisation of grid operations, short-term solar forecasting etc. Internet of Things (IoT) enables remote monitoring diagnostics, and power and asset management using smart sensors and analytics with artificial intelligence and cloud capabilities. The advanced materials team provide expertise in the form of forensic analysis of materials to detect failures and the development of advanced energy storage systems (batteries and supercapacitors). Finally, the 3D printing team is developing 3D printing capabilities for addressing DEWA’s spare parts and rapid prototyping needs. The facility currently operates 16 3D Printing systems that can utilize more than 20 materials which can cover a wide range of applications and use cases within DEWA.

Energy System Analysis Research

Energy System Analysis Research develops and applies advanced capabilities for joint technical and economic assessment of energy-related technologies, systems, and policies. The area develops energy models, lifecycle assessment models, and business strategy assessments to support DEWA’s future readiness. This area models and assesses new energy system configurations and technologies at the macro level with a focus on cost-optimal integration of renewable energy systems and strategies for the deployment of new energy technologies.

هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي (ديوا) | مركز البحوث والتطوير

مركز البحوث والتطوير

يعتبر مركز البحوث والتطوير، ضمن مجمع محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم للطاقة الشمسية، منصة عالمية توفر حلولاً وتقنيات مبتكرة لتعزيز العمليات التشغيلية والخدماتية للمؤسسات الخدماتية حول العالم. وتشمل مجالات عمل المركز "الطاقة الشمسية"، و"تكامل الشبكة الذكية"، و"كفاءة الطاقة"، و"المياه"، إضافة إلى تكنولوجيا الفضاء وتطبيقات الثورة الصناعية الرابعة. وضمن برنامج هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي للفضاء "سبيس دي"، يعمل المركز على تطوير عدد من الاستخدامات المتخصصة لشبكة الكهرباء وشبكات المياه. وتستند المجالات الأساسية لعمل المركز على ثلاثة ممكّنات تتمثل في: الثورة الصناعية الرابعة (بما في ذلك الذكاء الاصطناعي وإنترنت الأشياء والروبوتات والطائرات من دون طيار والطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد والمواد المتقدمة)، وتقنيات الفضاء وتحليلات أنظمة الطاقة.

تضم البنية التحتية لمركز البحوث والتطوير ما يلي:

  • مختبرات داخلية للطاقة الشمسية ومختبر التسريع المصطنع للعمر الافتراضي.
  • المختبرات الخارجية (OTF) للمراقبة المستمرة لأداء الألواح الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية في الظروف المناخية الفعلية، ومختبر الألواح الكهروضوئية المدمجة في المباني (BIPV)، ومركز اختبار لتنظيف الألواح بالحلول الروبوتية.
  • المختبرات: الروبوتات والطائرات بدون طيار، المواد المتقدمة، و التصنيع بالإضافة.
  • مجموعة الحوسبة ذات الأداء العالي.
  • مختبر تقنيات تخزين الطاقة.
  • المشروع التجريبي للهيدروجين الأخضر.
  • نظام اختبار التناضح العكسي باستخدام الخلايا الكهروضوئية.
  • مختبر إنترنت الأشياء.
  • محطة أرضية فضائية لبرنامج هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي للفضاء (سبيس - دي) وغير ذلك الكثير.

الرؤية والرسالة

يهدف مركز البحوث والتطوير التابع لهيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي إلى أن يصبح منصة عالمية لتطوير ونشر الحلول المبتكرة في مجال طاقة المستقبل وأنظمة المياه. تتمثل مهمة مركز البحوث والتطوير في دعم مساعي الهيئة من خلال أحدث الأبحاث التطبيقية، لضمان بقاء الهيئة ونظامها البيئي في الطليعة لتقديم خدمات ذات مستوى عالمي بتكلفة فعّالة.
يعتمد المركز أفضل الممارسات الدولية في مجال البحوث والتطوير ويدعم أهداف استراتيجية دبي للطاقة النظيفة 2050. يتم إجراء البحوث والتطوير داخلياً بالتعاون مع الكثير من المؤسسات العالمية.


مجالات أنشطة البحوث

بحوث الطاقة الشمسية

يدرس مجال أبحاث الطاقة الشمسية سبلاً عديدة لتحسين تقنيات الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية للتخفيف من آثار الغبار والظروف الصحراوية القاسية على أداء الألواح الشمسية الكهروضوئية المدمجة في المباني، واختبار اعتماديتها على المدى الطويل وتطوير المعايير المناسبة.

مجال أبحاث المياه

يقوم مجال أبحاث المياه بتقييم وتطوير حلول مستدامة لتحلية المياه وتنقيتها باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية (بتقنية الألواح الكهروضوئية والتناضح العكسي والتناضح الأمامي)، واكتشاف وتقليل الفاقد من نقل المياه، والحد من استخدام الموارد عن طريق تقليل النفايات السائلة شديدة الملوحة.

مجال دمج الشبكة الذكية

يقوم مجال دمج الشبكة الذكية بتقييم وتطوير الأنظمة التي تسهّل وتحسّن دمج مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في الشبكة مع الحفاظ على معايير جودة الطاقة. يتضمن ذلك استخدام أنظمة تخزين الكهرباء (التقنيات الكيميائية والحرارية والميكانيكية)، بالإضافة إلى تجميع مصادر الطاقة الموزعة وتخزينها مثل محطات الطاقة الافتراضية وشواحن السيارات الكهربائية.

مجال أبحاث كفاءة الطاقة

يهدف هذا المجال إلى تعزيز التنمية الذكية والمستدامة والحد من الهدر من خلال تحسين كفاءة أنظمة الطاقة (بالتركيز على التبريد)، وتسريع التحول إلى الطاقة النظيفة. تحدد الأعمال البحثية في هذا المجال وتطوِّر وتتحقق من صلاحية الحلول المبتكرة التي تمكّن من استخدام الطاقة بكفاءة وذكاء، وتعزّز مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، وتحسّن من جودة الصحة والسعادة.

مجال أبحاث الفضاء

يهدف هذا المجال إلى دعم الهيئة في الاستشعار عن بعد وفي العمليات ذات الصلة، بكفاءة عالية وتكلفة منخفضة باستخدام الأقمار الاصطناعية وقدرات المحطات الأرضية. تم تصميم حلول البحوثه المتطورة خصيصاً لتلبية احتياجات المؤسسات الخدماتية بما في ذلك مراقبة وحدة التغذية الفرعية الثانوية، وسلامة الأصول وخدمات الرصد الجوي. الهيئة أطلقت قمرها الاصطناعي النانوي من نوع (U3) "ديوا سات1"، وكانت أول مؤسسة خدماتية على مستوى العالم تستخدم الأقمار الاصطناعية النانوية لتحسين عمليات وصيانة وتخطيط شبكات الكهرباء والمياه.

الثورة الصناعية الرابعة

ييتيح هذا المجال البحثي التطوير الفعال للحلول التي تدعم المجالات الأساسية لأعمال الهيئة. تُستخدم حلول الروبوتات والطائرات بدون طيار لتوفير خدمات الاختبار والصيانة من خلال عمليات غير مأهولة/ذاتية التشغيل عبر سلسلة القيمة للمؤسسة بأكملها (مثل محطات الطاقة الكهروضوئية وفحص وصيانة خطوط النقل). يقوم فريق الذكاء الاصطناعي (AI) بتطوير واختبار ودمج تقنيات الذكاء الاصطناعي لتحسين عمليات الشبكة، والتنبؤ بالطاقة الشمسية على المدى القصير وما إلى ذلك. يتيح إنترنت الأشياء (IoT) تشخيص المراقبة عن بُعد وإدارة الطاقة والأصول باستخدام أجهزة الاستشعار الذكية وتحليلات الذكاء الاصطناعي وقدرات التخزين السحابي. يتمتع فريق المواد المتقدمة بخبرات واسعة في مجال التحليل الاستدلالي العلمي للمواد لاكتشاف الأعطال وتطوير أنظمة تخزين الطاقة المتقدمة (البطاريات والمكثفات الفائقة). ويعمل فريق الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد على تطوير قدرات الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد لتلبية احتياجات قطع غيار الهيئة واحتياجات النماذج الأولية السريعة. يعمل المركز حالياً على تشغيل 16 نظاماً للطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد يمكنها استخدام أكثر من 20 مادة تغطي نطاق واسع من التطبيقات ودراسات الحالات داخل هيئة كهرباء ومياه دبي.

مجال تحليل أنظمة الطاقة

تعمل أبحاث تحليل أنظمة الطاقة على تطوير وتطبيق قدرات متقدمة للتقييم الفني والاقتصادي المشترك للتقنيات والأنظمة والسياسات المرتبطة بالطاقة. يقوم مجال البحث هذا بتطوير نماذج الطاقة ونماذج تقييم دورة حياة الأجهزة والمعدات وتقييمات استراتيجية العمل لدعم استعداد الهيئة للمستقبل. كما يقوم بنمذجة وتقييم تشكيلات وتقنيات أنظمة الطاقة الجديدة على المستوى الكلي مع التركيز على الدمج الأمثل من حيث تكلفة أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة واستراتيجيات تطبيق التكنولوجيات الجديدة للطاقة.